AI Image-to-Video Tools: RunWay vs LeiaPix — Examples and Comparison

Mariya Gicheva
4 min readDec 12, 2023

Two AI Tools for Transmuting Images into Videos

I’ve been checking out different AI tools for turning images into video animations for my creative projects lately.

There are tons of web-based software options out there that offer free trials, so I’ve been giving two of them a shot myself. I want to share my experiences and results with you.

I started my research by using Midjourney to create an image.

That will be our test photo, so we’ll be able to compare the differences between AI image-to-video tools. Check it out:

Prompt: A black cat with an open mouth with mice at its side, in the style of surrealistic urban scenes, made of cheese, dark humor graphic prints, illustrative storytelling, colorful muralist, gritty horror comics, lively tableaus
Prompt: A black cat with an open mouth with mice at its side, in the style of surrealistic urban scenes, made of cheese, dark humor graphic prints, illustrative storytelling, colorful muralist, gritty horror comics, lively tableaus

The initial AI software I experimented with for image-to-video conversion was RunWay.

They offer 125 credits for free to create videos, but the drawback is that a watermark appears when exporting the video. For each second of video generation on RunWay, it consumes 5 credits. The video I generated is 4 sec. long and I used 20 credits to generate it.

Within the interface, you have the capability to adjust the video’s duration and manipulate camera motions. Additionally, they’ve introduced a Motion Brush feature in beta.

--

--

Mariya Gicheva

I'm self-taught in graphic and web design. Exploring new hobbies fuels my passion. This blog's about improving my English writing and sharing what I learn.