Mark Kowalski
1 min readMar 5, 2022

I am DREADING the last day of school.

This is a tough one. The yearbook committee has begun at my school, spring is right around the corner, state testing season is upon us, and before we know it summer break will be here and my fifth graders will officially be middle schoolers.

That’s it. My first year of teaching will be over. It’s crazy to think that the finish line is in sight. You may think I am crazy, but I am dreading the last day of school.

I genuinely do not know how I am going to leave these kids. They’re all so unique and great in their own way. We’re at that point of the year where we all understand our quirks, we have inside jokes, we laugh, but also have serious discussions and I see them growing up right in front of me.

I don’t know if I make an individual graduation speech, but if I do — prepare for tears.

I have to buy shades for graduation day.

I am so proud of each and every student in my class.

Mark Kowalski

Mark Kowalski is a highly-qualified educator, nationally syndicated voiceover artist, political scientist, and journalist from New Jersey.