Mark H
1 min readJun 19, 2016

--

It is a rude awakening. I have an opportunity to get out, and I’m seriously considering taking it. I read an article by Uncle Bob Martin recently that said he hasn’t seen anything really new in tech since the late 70’s. That sounds about right. What they’re doing isn’t rocket science, but they have the media convinced it is.

The ironic part is I’ve read most VC funds don’t even perform up to market average. Most of those 20-something CEOs run the companies into the ground. There’s nobody around to tell them what to avoid doing.

At my last 2 companies, I’ve been told my teams were the most efficient they’ve seen. One of them told me, “I don’t necessarily approve of your methods, but I can’t argue with the results.” I told people on my teams I’d better not see them working more than 40 hours.

There’s enough evidence overworking people is less productive it’s hardly debatable, but they’re still looking for people to live at the office.

I once thought when I was doing government work that it would be a nice place to go at the end of my career. I didn’t think that would be at 40.

--

--

Mark H

No promises. I write for me. I hope you can relate.