New Steadiness FuellCell SuperComp Elite v3 Overview

Hobbies Hub
6 min readJan 17, 2023

--

[ad_1]

New Steadiness FuellCell SuperComp Elite v3 Introduction

New Steadiness has a very complicated naming system relating to their flagship trainers and racers.

The RC Elite v2 was the identify of final yr’s model however this yr’s New Steadiness flagship racer is named the SuperComp (SC) Elite v3. New Steadiness needs to provide all their carbon-plated sneakers the identify SuperComp this yr.

Final yr, once I examined the RC Elite v2, I discovered that it had a extremely nice, easy and energetic experience however I discovered it a bit too delicate/mushy to race in. It didn’t present as a lot velocity help as different tremendous sneakers and I felt velocity was misplaced within the spongy midsole foam. I used my pair for largely uptempo coaching runs over the previous yr.

The brand new SuperComp Elite v3 weighs 8 oz (228 g) and is heavier than v2 which was 7.7 oz (218 g). It now has a 4 mm drop in comparison with 8 mm final yr and its worth has additionally gone up by $25 which is now according to the Vaporfly Subsequent% 2, Adios Professional 3, and Hyperion Elite 3.

That is the TCS New York Metropolis Marathon® version which has particular branding on the insole, heel pull tab, tongue and medial midfoot. It’s very uncommon that a model has a large launch launch in a marathon particular version mannequin.

New Steadiness FuellCell SuperComp Elite v3 First Impressions

Once I noticed pictures of the unreleased Elite v3, I used to be shocked that they’d modified the higher to a bootie development. I’m not a fan of bootie constructions on racing sneakers. The Hoka Carbon X3 additionally had a bootie development which I hated.

The very first thing I observed once I put the Elite v3 on was that I couldn’t get heel lockdown on account of there being no double first row eyelets. Regardless of how tight I tied the laces, my heel nonetheless felt free.

It felt ever so barely firmer than final yr’s RC Elite v2 however I needed to be carrying final yr’s model on one foot and this yr’s model on the opposite foot to note a distinction.

My first run was a energy exercise which consisted of three x 3.2 km. What stood out was the additional power return that I felt, particularly within the rearfoot and midfoot of the shoe. It felt much like the SuperComp Coach however the Elite v3 a lot nimbler and nippier.

Transitions had been easy and the experience felt softer than a lot of the tremendous sneakers I’ve examined this yr however the Elite v3 didn’t really feel as propulsive. The rocker felt gentler and never as aggressive so toe-offs felt much less highly effective.

New Steadiness FuellCell SuperComp Elite v3 Higher

I’m unsure why New Steadiness determined to go together with a bootie development higher however it was a really, very unhealthy concept. Bootie development uppers belong on informal way of life sneakers, not on flagship carbon-plated racers.

As a result of stiffness of the plate, foot lockdown is extraordinarily essential in a racer and the SC Elite v3 fails to offer heel lockdown as a result of it’s inconceivable to tie a runner’s knot. That is the SC Elite’s largest weak point.

I discover the skinny higher materials rather less breathable in comparison with final yr’s model which had giant air flow holes within the toe field so v3 runs a bit hotter than v2. Your complete higher is one piece so the tongue is hooked up and there’s no tongue slide.

I discovered the collar stiff and intrusive. Generally once I’m working on an angled floor, I can really feel the collar poking into my ankles which is annoying. I by no means had this downside with the earlier variations as a result of they by no means had bootie constructions so there was more room between my ankle and the collar.

The SC Elite v3 has a real to measurement match and the relaxed higher is stretchy so it’s very accommodating. It looks like a coaching shoe higher relatively than a racing one and wide-footed runners shouldn’t have any issues nonetheless you probably have excessive quantity toes, the collar would possibly poke into your ankles and irritate.

New Steadiness FuellCell SuperComp Elite v3 Sole Unit

The SuperComp Elite v3 has a experience which may be very mild in your toes and legs. This is because of 2 principal causes: firstly, the FuelCell compound which makes up its midsole is tremendous delicate and secondly, its carbon plate is comparatively versatile for a marathon racer.

The mild, forgiving experience is ideal for lengthy runs, at marathon tempo. For shorter, quicker exercises I crave one thing a bit stiffer and with extra distinguished rockered transitions. That is why I don’t advocate the SuperComp Elite v3 for races shorter than 25 kilometres.

The carbon plate within the SC Elite v3 has an arc design, in different phrases, it’s cambered and never flat. You may really really feel that the plate will not be flat when strolling and working in it. Whilst you’re loading the plate, it flattens and snaps again to put when launched.

Along with the cambered plate, the SC Elite v3 additionally has a big, deep canal or void on its underside which permits the complete midsole to splay upon impression after which return the power upwards. That is additionally a function of the SC Coach and it’s not a gimmick- you may actually really feel the additional power return within the rearfoot and midfoot.

The drop has been modified from 8 mm within the earlier model, to 4 mm however I can’t say that I observed a distinction with the decrease drop. It nonetheless feels just like the shoe is easing you thru transitions from heel to toe on account of its vast transition void beneath it despite the fact that the drop has halved.

What I did discover was the improved stability. The SC Elite v3 feels prefer it has a much less curved final which is extra evenly balanced than earlier variations. Earlier variations had lateral flares that tended to push me over onto my medial facet.

On the outsole of the SC Elite v3, there’s rubber protection on solely the important, excessive put on areas. There are 2 separate items of rubber on the lateral and medial sides of the rearfoot, in addition to one U-shaped piece of rubber on the forefoot. The entrance of the carbon plate additionally has a rubber piece glued onto it as a result of it’s bottom-loaded and wishes safety from the bottom.

Grip is common and acceptable for a racer. I miss the spiky forefoot of v1 which continues to be top-of-the-line gripping outsoles I’ve ever skilled on a working shoe.

So far as sturdiness goes, the SC Elite v3 has decrease sturdiness than the common carbon-plated tremendous shoe. The principle motive for that is that its FuelCell foam is so delicate that it scuffs very simply when uncovered to tough surfaces.

I’ve observed a whole lot of put on on the uncovered lips of the canal beneath the rearfoot after simply 80 kilometres of testing. There are additionally small holes the place sharp stones have pierced the delicate midsole.

New Steadiness FuellCell SuperComp Elite v3 Conclusions

I used the SC Elite v3 in direction of the tail finish of my marathon coaching block and it was within the working for race day nonetheless I made a decision to not go together with it.

I like the brand new design of the midsole/outsole however I hate the brand new higher. Model 2 had a significantly better higher which was extra snug and offered a safer lockdown.

The SuperComp Elite v3 has a extra energetic experience and it feels barely firmer and quicker than final yr’s model. The brand new, cambered plate and Vitality Arc make the shoe really feel extra dynamic, extra bouncy.

It’s versatile however it performs higher on the slower paces. From simple paces all the way in which as much as marathon tempo are pleasurable however something quicker and it feels a bit inefficient on account of its plush experience.

It nonetheless isn’t S tier for me. I don’t discover it as propulsive or environment friendly as among the different tremendous sneakers, primarily on account of its mild rocker and its delicate experience.

I feel New Steadiness nonetheless must agency up the midsole foam a tad and to make the toe-spring greater/extra aggressive with the intention to make it extra aggressive with the market leaders.

[ad_2]

https://hobbies-hub.com/new-steadiness-fuellcell-supercomp-elite-v3-overview/?feed_id=1389&_unique_id=63c639858766b

--

--