About Christian freedom.

Wojciech Herman
3 min readMar 12, 2024

For many people, the Christian faith seems simple, which is why they often downplay it, considering it unimportant. They do this because they have not experienced its power or felt its influence. However, those who have never tasted its essence will not be able to properly describe its meaning or understand what has been written about it. Even if they have only a little experience of its power, they cannot stop talking, thinking or pondering about it, because it is like a living stream flowing towards eternal life (John 4:14). I cannot boast that I have it in abundance, because I know how little I have of it. However, as I struggled with various temptations, I gained some faith. Consequently, I can, perhaps not as brilliantly or sophisticately, but certainly more thoroughly, talk about it than those learned and clever debaters who often do not even understand their own issues. However, in order to serve simple people (because it is for them that I serve), I first present two key issues regarding freedom and slavery of the spirit:

1. The Christian is completely free and independent of all things.
2. The Christian is the most devoted servant of all things and is subject to all things.

At first glance, these thoughts may seem contradictory, but where they come together, they help us understand our situation. Both of these concepts come from Paul himself, who says: “Being free before all, I made myself at the service of all” (1 Cor. 9:19). “Owe no one anything, but love one another” (Rom. 13:8). Love, by its nature, is…

--

--

Wojciech Herman

I am a happy husband to one wife, a father of three children, and a grandfather of three grandchildren. I love writing about the history of the Biblical world.