‘Bob Marley: One Love’

A Review

Marki Alexander EdD 🐇
2 min readMar 25, 2024
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

Praise for One Love

As a child of the 70s and 80s, I grew up around the music of Bob Marley and the Wailers, but the political unrest in Jamaica was not on my radar. As a child, I enjoyed One Love, No Woman No Cry, War, Jamming, and others without ever understanding the influence that the unrest in his life had on his music. However, Bob Marley: One Love changed that. This movie shows the life and people that impacted Marley’s music and makes the music all the more compelling.

I went into the movie hoping to hear some great music, and I did. Kingsley Ben-Adir did a fantastic job covering the songs. He also made Marley’s character come to life on the screen. You see Marley as a gifted musician and a troubled man, both personally and politically. The movie shows how Marley uses his music to try to effect change and the toll that it takes on him to bring opposing factions together, and in no other place is it more evident than in Redemption Song, which could easily be seen as Marley trying to redeem both his country and himself.

Something to Keep in Mind

One thing that may cause audiences some trouble is the Jamaican accent. Though still English, the Jamaican variety of English takes a little while to get used to. I commented to my seatmate that I wish there had…

--

--

Marki Alexander EdD 🐇

I finished my doctorate at the age of 52. You might as well work towards your dreams: the time will pass anyway.