Why I Decided to Try Ozempic

A Story about Hitting Rock Bottom and Trying to Get Back to Myself

Marki Alexander EdD 🐇
6 min readApr 5, 2024
Pandemic Selfie from November 2020

Trigger warnings: pandemic, obesity, depression, giving up, weight loss, and medical problems.

Like so many of us, during the pandemic I went through an identity crisis. I decided to dye my hair blue (HUGE mistake). I was severely depressed, and I topped out at my highest weight ever…359.9 pounds! GASP!

I took a long hard look at myself, and I decided at that point I had only had two real choices: (1) just throw in the towel and eat myself to death or (2) try, once again, to lose some weight. And for several days, it could have gone either way…but I decided to give weight loss another shot.

First Steps

While working at home, I had adopted a yoga pants and t-shirts uniform. This quickly slipped to yoga pants and swing-style t-shirts, which kept me from ever having to be cognizant of the pounds I had gained. I decided that wearing normal cut shirts instead of swing style would help me with awareness so I got rid of all the swing-style tees.

Next, I started swimming religiously. I had been taking advantage of our backyard pool on an irregular basis, but a mild November, a solar water heater, and a wet suit allowed me to swim (mostly) comfortably into…

--

--

Marki Alexander EdD 🐇

I finished my doctorate at the age of 52. You might as well work towards your dreams: the time will pass anyway.