The Best Eats

Last updated Feb 13th, 2024

Mark Cersosimo
12 min readJul 22, 2017
Breakfast at The Saint Régis, Paris France.

This is a list of my favorite places to eat in various cities around the world along with a short description of the place or what I like there. All restaurant names are linked to their website, or if they don’t have one, their Yelp page for more information.

I mostly made this for friends and family who ask for recommendations of things to go in these places when traveling I end up just giving them a list of places to eat instead.

“Mark […] probably has a pretty skewed perception of what food is supposed to taste like. After all, this is the guy who’s eaten meat he picked out of the trash” — Food & Wine Magazine, July 2017

San Francisco, CA

Plow

The lemon ricotta pancakes and house sausage are phenomenal.

Los Panchos

Best Pupusas in the USA.

Bi-Rite Creamery

My go-to is the Dainty Gent Sundae. Honey lavender ice cream, hot fudge, blood orange olive oil & maldon sea salt. Add whipped cream, trust me.

Pizzeria Delfina

Saffron arancini to start and a Panna pizza. Perfection.

Eats

Only open for breakfast. My go-to is the Waffle Bacon. All the juice here is fresh squeezed.

Hot Cookie

Cookies are always fresh. Nothing better than a hot Snickerdoodle cookie.

Humphry Slocombe

The Secret Breakfast ice cream is unlike anything you’ve ever had.

Memphis Minnie’s BBQ

Best pulled pork on the west coast.

Japanese Tea Garden

Super chill place to enjoy some tea and snacks. Costs $9 to get into the Tea Garden however, and you still need to pay for what you buy.

Outerlands

My favorite weekend brunch spot. Everything is good. They open at 9, but show up at 8:20 and put your name on the list — trust me.

La Taqueria

My favorite taco spot in SF. Get it “el dorado” style (crunchy taco wrapped in a soft shell).

The Melt

Cheap, quick grilled cheese. So so good.

Patxi’s Pizza

Surprisingly great Chicago style pizza in San Francisco

Straw

A very tiny carnival themed restaurant with one of the most bonkers menu I’ve ever seen. All the food here is awful for your arteries but amazing for your soul.

Trader Vic’s

A little pricey but this Polynesian inspired restaurant is incredible. I highly recommend the steak if you’re a meat eater. And don’t leave without trying multiple tiki drinks.

Happy Donuts

What appears to be an average donut shop on the edge of Chinatown is secretly very, very good. I’ve had many donuts here and they were all fantastic.

Hunan Home

Really fantastic old-school Hunan style Chinese food, right in the heart of Chinatown.

Washington, D.C.

Lupo Verde

The Cacio e Pepe is other worldly. Also, the free bread they bring to your table is insanely addictive.

Georgetown Cupcake

I don’t like cupcakes. Well, I didn’t think I did until I went here. Don’t play it safe with your flavor choices!

Le Diplomate

The steak frites was amazing. The Martinique Rhum Punch is the best mixed drink I’ve ever had in my life. They only get better the more you have.

Ice Cream Jubilee

Flavors change up constantly here. Be adventurous! They let you try samples.

Boston, MA

Regina Pizzeria

Only the location in The North End. I mean it. Do not visit any other location, it’s licensed garbage. Get a plain cheese pie (and a topping, if you must).

Galleria Umberto

Get here early, they close when they run out of food (around 2pm). Get the Sicilian slice. No, get two. Okay, two and a rice ball.

Santarpio’s

Solid pizza out in East Boston. Don’t forget to get the steak tips too!

Rino’s Place

This place only has 11 tables and doesn’t take reservations so you’re in for a long wait, but it’s worth it. Absolutely incredible Italian food here.

Southern Proper

Excellent southern food here. I came here for brunch and it was fantastic. I recommend “The Hojo”.

Mike’s Pastry

Mike’s sells a lot of Italian pastries, but you’re coming here for the Cannoli. I’ve eaten hundreds of Cannolis in my lifetime and there’s truly no place better than Mike’s.

Ogawa Coffee

Yes, it’s true, a tiny unassuming coffee shop in the financial district have incredible breakfast sandwiches and drinks. Skip Starbucks, come here.

New Haven, CT

Modern Apizza

Look, I don’t know what to tell you. I’m a New Yorker who rates this pizza a strong 9.6.

Milwaukee, WI

Mad Rooster Cafe

There aren’t many things in Milwaukee worth putting on a list, but this breakfast spot is one of them! The spicy chicken chorizo gravy they put on their biscuits & gravy is worth the trip to this otherwise miserable city.

Chicago, IL

Lou Malnati’s

As a New Yorker, I didn’t “get” deep dish until I visited Lou Malnati’s. There’s a time and a place, and that time and place is as soon as you get to Chicago.

Portillio’s

Italian beef sandwich “dipped”, chili cheese dog, chocolate cake shake and then whatever else you think you can still shove inside of your stupid fat face.

Green Street Smoked Meats

You’re going to want to try everything. You should.(But if you have to go for one thing, their pulled pork is truly outrageous)

Yolk

Excellent breakfast spot with a bunch of locations throughout Chicagoland. Very innovative food and drink options here, all of it delicious.

Jennivee’s Bakery

This hidden bakery has the best Tres Leches cake I’ve ever had in my life. I’m sure their other stuff is good too, but it doesn’t matter, get the Tres Leches cake.

Firecakes Donuts

Chicago has a very strong donut culture and I’m here for it. Firecakes sell some of the most fresh and flavorful donuts that I’ve tried. Their ice cream donut sandwiches are really good too!

Garrett Popcorn Shops

This is kind of a touristy thing that you shouldn’t feel shameful for going to. Get yourself a bag of the Chicago Mix (caramel and cheddar popcorn mixed together), take it to the Riverwalk and enjoy this incredible snack.

New Orleans, LA

The Ruby Slipper

Get the Chicken St. Charles and a mimosa. Also, you’re in New Orleans so you can take an extra mimosa to go, so do that.

Jimmy J’s Cafe

Biscuits and gravy, yes please.

Cafe du Monde

You kind of have to stop here for beignets. Hop on the to-go line, it’s way quicker.

Red Gravy

This is an Italian restaurant that serves really unique breakfast combinations (they close at 2pm).

Baltimore, MD

Bond Street Social

Great place to come with a group of people. It’s a sharing menu, so all the plates are small and are picked at amongst your group. The chicken and waffles are the best I’ve ever had.

Woodberry Kitchen

Local, seasonal menu that changes every few weeks. The food here is crafted with incredible care and very flavorful. The restaurant itself is absolutely beautiful.

The Charmery

Tiny little ice cream spot that, given the lines in the evening is quite popular. I tried a bunch of different flavors and my favorite is “Saturday Morning Cartoons” which tastes like the bottom of a cereal bowl.

Page, AZ

Big John’s Texas BBQ

I speak in hyperbole a lot but this is genuinely the greatest BBQ I’ve ever eaten in my entire life. If you’re ever visiting Horseshoe Bend, please eat here.

Amsterdam, Netherlands

Van Stapele Koekmakerij

They sell one thing. The best cookie in the world. It’s a gooey fudgey thing with a marshmallow-ish center. You want it.

Lo Stivale d’Oro

Honestly the best Italian restaurant i’ve ever been to in my entire life. It’s run by an Italian woman with her mother and son and I cannot recommend it enough. Try the lasagna and a prosciutto pizza.

Paris, France

Le Saint Regis

While in Paris I never stepped foot in a restaurant that so perfectly captured the essence of Paris as this place did.

Le Relais de l’Entrecote

They serve Steak Frites and nothing else. The butter herb sauce they pour on top is straight crack. Try the house wine!

Barcelona, Spain

Federal Cafe

Trendy hipster spot filled with lots of locals. Really solid breakfast option if you’re in the neighborhood but don’t go out of your way.

Granja Dulcinea

I had the churros, drinking chocolate, catalan cream, and rice pudding and it was all absolutely bonkers. Amazing dessert spot.

Caelum

This is a super special spot. A lot of the items here are made by nuns in the local monasteries. Enjoy some cakes, pastries and cava. Ask to be seated downstairs in the dungeon.

Da Greco

Fancy Italian restaurant with incredible food. It’s absolutely gorgeous inside, especially up on the 3rd floor. Reservations are recommended unless you show up right when they open.

Brunch & Cake

Healthy breakfast options. Bright, colorful food (which is highly Instagrammable, if that’s your thing). I recommend the ricotta & oat pancake and a multifruit smoothie!

London, UK

The Rum Kitchen

Excellent Jamaican spot with amazing jerk chicken and excellent drink menu.

The Diner

This is very American of me, but I loved this place. They also happen to serve the absolute greatest cream soda in the history of cream sodas.

Arôme Bakery

There’s going to be a line, but it’s absolutely worth it. You absolutely must get the honey butter toast and the egg custard tart. You can get other stuff, it’s all great. But if you leave without those two things, you failed.

Nando’s

Nando’s is a fast casual chain, but oh my god is it good. Their chicken and their sauces are top tier, and luckily in London you’re never too far from one.

Park Room — London

There’s no shortage of places to get afternoon tea in London, but this place was really great. Everything served during the service was excellent, and it’s relatively more low key than places downtown.

Chin Chin Ice Cream

Get the burnt butter caramel ice cream and then come and thank me.

San Juan, Puerto Rico

Barrachina

They claim to have invented the Piña Colada. Whether or not that’s true, they’re really good, and not sweet like their American counterpart. The Chicken Breast Manchego is crazy good.

Señor Paleta

Pretty great paletas (ice pops). Go down the street and eat them in the park!

La Bombonera

Absolutely beautiful restaurant. Came here for breakfast, it was excellent. Note: They don’t have English menus here.

Toronto, Canada

Wanda’s Pie In The Sky

Excellent pies! I had the Sour Cherry but they all looked so incredible.

Rasta Pasta

Sincerely perfect Jamaican food.

Montreal, Canada

La Cornetteria

You have to try the traditional Cornetto stuffed with custard. It’ll change your life.

Drogheria Fine

A takeout container full of gnocchi for $5. Can’t beat it! It’s absolutely incredible and my favorite thing I ate in Montreal. FYI despite what every website says, they don’t start serving until 11:30am.

Phuket, Thailand

Kan Eang @ pier

Absolutely gorgeous outdoor restaurant with great good. The wait staff will not let you pour your own water. Go at night!

Willemstad, Curaçao

Pirate Bay

Pretty chill spot on the beach. Good food, great drinks.

Rome, Italy

Antico Forno Roscioli

An incredible bakery serving up all kinds of baked goods but the real winner here is a pizza with thinly sliced potatoes, rosemary and olive oil on top. The best snack in Rome.

Florence, Italy

Ara: E Sicilia

Arancini is an Italian stuffed rice ball. I eat a lot of them, and I can tell you the ones they sell are absolutely incredible.

Trattoria 13 Gobbi

A beautiful restaurant serving up incredible food. Highly recommend the super simple bowl of rigatoni with sauce and buffalo mozzarella. It was the most memorable dish I had during my time in Italy.

Osteria Santo Spirito

Cacio E Pepe is my favorite pasta dish ever and this restaurant, hands down, has the best I’ve ever had. I tried a few other dishes here and everything was incredible.

Iceland

Steikhúsið

Iceland isn’t really known for their steak, but wow, this place was absolutely excellent. Top tier cuts of meat, excellent sauces (you must get the creamy pepper sauce), and reasonably priced (for a steakhouse anyway).

Brauð & Co.

Excellent little bakery that sells excellent cinnamon rolls, pretzels and breads. Stock up here on some carbs before you go out hiking.

Faxi Bakery

This is a little cafe essentially in the middle of nowhere that sells the best donuts I’ve ever eaten in my entire life. No hyperbole.

Deig

Great little spot to grab some pastrys and coffee for breakfast. I can’t speak on the bagels, as I didn’t have one, but everything else is great!

Naples, Italy

Da Attilio

There’s a lot of pizza in Naples, but Attilio Bachetti is a master of his craft. Everything here is amazing, but my personal recommendation is the “Carnivale” pizza.

Osteria Donna Teresa

Mom & Pop owned restaurant with no menu. You get a choice of soup or pasta, then a choice of fish or meat. Super special place that reminds me of my grandma’s Sunday dinner.

Pintauro

Sfogliatelle is a staple of Naples. It’s a pastry filled with orange flavored ricotta and Pintauro serves them up fresh, warm, and delicious.

Hawaii (Maui)

Huli Huli Chicken

This Huli Huli Chicken, served from a tent in Koki Beach Park is hands down the best chicken I’ve ever had in my entire life and that’s not an exaggeration.

Aunty Sandy’s Banana Bread

A tiny little stand on the side of the road to Hana serving up delicious hot banana bread. I don’t even really like banana bread but this was incredible.

Fat Daddy’s Smokehouse

Truly excellent BBQ here at Fat Daddy’s. I recommend the pulled pork!

Wow Wow Lemonade

Very extensive menu of lemonades, açaí bowls and the like. They’re all super fresh and flavorful. (They’ve got a few west coast USA locations as well!)

Ma’alaea General Store

This quickly became our go-to spot for a quick breakfast or lunch right across the street from the harbor. The chicken katsu here is to die for.

Hawaii (Big Island)

Willie’s Hot Chicken

Excellent fried chicken in a super-vibey spot. We came here around sunset and enjoyed our juicy flavorful chicken as a live band played. Nice spot!

Huggo’s On The Rocks

Very solid food and tasty drinks at this restaurant right on the beach. Great spot that seems more quiet and low key than others in the area.

Hawaii (Oahu)

Donut King

This is a very small and unassuming donut place in a strip mall that kind of blew me away. They close when they run out, so get there early. Remarkable (but basic) donuts here.

Tea Home

I had a LOT of bubble tea in Hawaii and this place was far and away the best. Excellent tea brews, fantastic flavors — everything here is really fresh and tasty.

Leonard’s Bakery

This place is famous and for a good reason. Their malasadas (Portuguese donuts filled with various flavored custards) are unbelievable. Be prepared to wait, everything is made fresh to order!

Kith Treats

Kith Treats is super unique in that they grind up various cereals into a powder and mix them into soft serve ice cream. You’d have to go and try it to understand, but trust me. Try “The Bam Bam”. They have a bunch of locations around the world.

The Sunrise Shack

Some of the creamiest most delicious smoothies I’ve ever had. They also sell other things, but at least try a smoothie!

--

--

Mark Cersosimo

Hi my name is Mark. I’m a video producer @ Vimeo. I live in NYC.