What Is Real Success…

Mark Jenney
2 min readMar 14, 2015

--

I was going through some old photos and came across this picture today. I was 21 at the time, and I had just bought a Lamborghini.

Looking back, I can see I had a very distorted view of what success meant. When I was younger, I thought success meant you made a lot of money and had a bunch of nice “stuff.”

As I’ve matured, I’ve come to realize that success isn’t about how many gadgets, cars, and houses you can buy. Real success is about how much of a positive impact you can have on the world.

Success is measured by how much value you add to society. How much value do you add to your family, friends, neighbors, and those you will never meet?

Everyone can add value to their family and friends, but those who are the most successful add value to people they never even meet.

Now when it comes to having nice things, don’t get me wrong, it’s fun to be able to buy nice “stuff,” but it’s just that “stuff” and “stuff” doesn’t matter.

People matter, and making people's lives better that’s what matters.

I recently challenged myself to go out there and achieve the next level of success in my own life. It’s not about buying more cars and houses. It’s about making a positive impact on more lives around the world and adding as much value as I can with the talents I’ve been given.

I want to challenge you to do the same thing. If you think you’re going to be successful just because you have the nicest cars and biggest houses, you have mistaken what real success is.

If all you ever strive for is to have more money, more cars, and bigger houses, even if you get it, you will end up feeling empty and never knowing what real success is.

I challenge you to be brave and bold and go out there into the world and add as much value as you can. You have special talents that no one else has.

One of the biggest regrets you’ll ever have is if you take your talents and don’t use them to their fullest capacity.

It took me a long time to figure out what real success is, and I’m still learning and growing each day.

You have the potential to achieve real success, but the only way you can do that is to look outside yourself. Stop thinking about how much money you will make from doing something and start thinking in the terms of how many lives you can impact.

I wish you all the success in the world, and I hope you take me up on my challenge to go out there and achieve real success.

--

--