Hollywood Bowl [a Hero Tears Tease]

Mark Roman Empire
2 min readJun 8, 2022

--

Announcer: “It’s Friday Night, Hollywood! What time is it?”

Audience: “Edward Time! [Thunderous applause & cheering]”

Announcer: “That’s right, Live from the Hollywood Bowl in the City of Angels, It’s Edward Oliver LIVE! Tonight’s casual conversation with: Brad Pitt, Zoe Kravitz and Pedro Pascal. Laughs with Eddie Pepitone. Music with The Weeknd and Special Surprise Guest.”

Backstage, she turns to an energetically relaxed Jim Carrey.

“Work or pleasure?”

“Pleasure, absolutely. I’m just here to watch Abel. Actually, I’m not even here. By the way, thanks again for that thing you did. I’m sleeping better now. And painting more.”

She smiled.

“As you should. You know you’re a national treasure, James.”

“Aw shucks, I’m not sure about that.” He pauses. “You’re never gonna call me Jim, are you?”

She feels her phone buzz, looks down, and grimaces.

READ the rest of this (and future) teases for only $2/month (UPDATE: the full tease can now be read by my one-time Supporters on Ko-Fi as well!)

© Mark Roman Empire. This is one of many draft sketches, quick initial peeks into possibilities in the developing Hero Tears Universe (the HTU). Stay tuned to the Hero Tears Instagram, Twitter and TikTok. Like what you’re reading? Want more? Follow me. Subscribe for emails of new posts. Share this with a friend! Sign my expelled editor petition. And if you have the means, donating to my Cash App or Venmo or Ko-Fi (no Patreon-type fees) helps me deliver you new creative grooviness sooner. No amount too small! And for only $2/mo. Basic Founding Fan Monthly Members of my Ko-Fi get full access to the entirety of future Hero Tears content glimpses. I’m growing this grassroots so you get to enjoy my full vision. NO notes from studios, Fortune 500 advertisers or nation-states! Key links to the HTU & my other projects here. Thanks!

--

--

Mark Roman Empire

“Hero Tears” creator, “Son of Elmer Gantry’s Bitch” poet, expelled student editor, religion survivor, former improv comedian busker “Lt. Frank”, SAG-AFTRA actor