What CAN You Do During Pandemic?

Mark Roman Empire
2 min readMar 20, 2020

--

Saw on a local LA news report last night and heard on a news podcast today that hospitals need BLOOD donations. According to the Red Cross there is a “Severe Blood Shortage, Donors Urgently Needed.”

Some reading this may be bored at home. Personally I’m buried with work at home, not enough hours in my day: Mark Roman Empire podcast, Heroteer & Lt. Frank of Vegas 90210 doing PSA’s for The 90028 (via fun drinking game, benefits local bartenders who can’t work due to pandemic).

I intend to find the time to donate blood, hopefully before the weekend. If any of my healthy, non-weed-smoking (LOL!) neighbors in the 90028 wish to join me, let me know!

Also, I encourage you to talk to any senior citizen and ask them about WWII or the Sixties. They may even recall the impact of the Great Depression. Your elder needs the old school phone call “check-in” connection. You need the perspective.

Breathe. Honestly assess yourself. Ask for help, if you need it. And/or provide help if you can. Whether you need to GET HELP or can OFFER HELP, I’d like to hear from you.

Predators are masturbating with fear right now. (If that word image disturbs you, we better not find a luxury SUV adorned with a “I Love Jesus” bumper sticker in your 3rd garage at your 2nd home, filled with the toilet paper, vinegar and butter I cannot buy at Ralphs or Trader Joes.) Why help predators? Focus!

Please don’t diminish what you CAN do. Nothing is too little. No pressure, but your fellow humans are depending on you, even if all you can do is ask for help for yourself and your loved ones. We will get through this.

I survived a thing or two in my time. Possibly why I continue to be a popcorn popper, churning out helpful creative solutions hourly during this pandemic. Of course, what the hell do I know? My ideas and $5 might possibly get you coffee at Starbucks. If you can find one that’s open within a block.

I am Mark Roman,
an Eagle Scout SAG-AFTRA busker,
and I approve of this message.

--

--

Mark Roman Empire

“Hero Tears” creator, “Son of Elmer Gantry’s Bitch” poet, expelled student editor, religion survivor, former improv comedian busker “Lt. Frank”, SAG-AFTRA actor