How to mute a phone call from an iPhone lock screen

Mark Traphagen
2 min readOct 29, 2016

--

Just tap on the phone number and call time

NOTE: The iOS 11 update has solved this problem! If you’re on a call, the phone call control screen above shows on your lock screen. Just tilt the phone toward you and the controls will show. If you haven’t yet updated (or won’t be updating), the instructions below should still help!

Because I work remotely I’m on a lot of phone calls each day. Sometimes I’m calling from a noisy location, so I need to mute my phone whenever I’m not speaking. On a group call, that’s the beginning of a lot of frustration.

Why? Because after a short time my iPhone goes to lock screen. Now suddenly I want to jump into the conversation, but by the time I wake up my phone, unlock the screen, get back to the call and tap unmute, my moment has passed and my brilliant save-the-company idea will never be heard.

Today I stumbled upon the solution, and it’s ridiculously easy.

How to mute or unmute your iPhone from the lock screen (works for iOS 10):

  1. Click the home button (phone number you’re connected to and elapsed time of call appears).
  2. Tap on the phone number/elapsed time area.
  3. The phone controls appear (see illustration at top of article).
  4. Tap the mute button.

That’s it!

What used to take 5 seconds or more (an eternity on a call) I can now do almost instantly.

What’s your favorite iPhone hack?

I write on Medium about digital marketing without the BS. Follow me here. Thanks!

--

--

Mark Traphagen

Digital Marketing Consultant/Teacher/Speaker | VP Content Strategy for AimClear | Content Marketing | Mandolin Maven 🏳️‍🌈 he/him/his