The Playbook to fix your Product Roadmap

Markus Müller
22 min readApr 12, 2022

I have experimented and struggled with roadmaps throughout my product career. Most approaches are either too complex or too simplistic, but now I have found an approach that combines the best of both worlds. It is an approach inspired by many other product leaders and applied in many of the teams I worked with. I have made it work in companies with a single tech team, as well as in tech organizations with 100+ people. I want to empower you to do the same.

Roadmaps can exist on various levels. However, we will focus on the roadmap that you spend the most time with and which connects your operational doing with your strategic objectives. I call it the roadmap pipeline. This pipeline reflects the opportunities you bet on to deliver on your objectives and strategy.

Good roadmapping requires a clear strategy and clear objectives. If you don’t have objectives, you can’t do a good job in prioritization. More on this in section 3 and 4.

The structure of this article:

  1. Section: Explanation of the Roadmap Pipeline approach
  2. Section: Outline of 3 routines to make this approach work
  3. Section: How to use a prioritization framework like ICE within the roadmap pipeline
  4. Section: Recommendations and pitfalls if you plan to implement this…

--

--