Greek Literature…..no thank you!

marlene.oliver10
3 min readSep 1, 2015

--

Attending a Greek Literature class on a Tuesday afternoon was definitely not how I wanted to spend my day. With no interest in literature, mythology, and all the other topics involving the ancients, I definitely walked into the class expecting to die of boredom. However, the class discussion was intriguing and there are times when similar topics come up in conversations with friends but nothing too in depth. The five great stories was the one that had me thinking the most after class! What will my five great stories be?

The next day was spent interrogating a couple of close friends about the worth of a human being. One of the first responses was “How do we determine one’s worth? And who says we’re capable of judgement?” The conversation started out with physical appearance like someones ethnicity, their age, or if they had all their limbs. Were they handicapped? Another comment that was made was how the person viewed their self. Did they seek outside validation or were they content? In what ways did they contribute to the society and how can I benefit from them? They stated that evaluating someone’s worth sets society up for a hierarchy and someone will always be at the bottom. The conversation pretty much ended with the question, “how can we measure someone’s worth?” I was left with the thought that we may not think we can measure someone’s worth, but we always judging those around us subconsciously.

NATIONAL GALLERY OF ART & THE POWER OF LOVEEEEEE

Charles Despiau. French 1874- 1946. Adolescent Girl. 1921. Bronze.
Venus of Doves. Marble. Étienne-Maurice Falconet. French 1716- 1791. Samuel H. Kress Collection.
Mount Corcoran. Oil on canvas 1876–1877. Albert Bierstadt. American 1830- 1902. Corcoran Collection.

These were the three works of art that stood out to me. I chose “Adolescent Girl” because I loved the color. I feel like Black is a representation of myself, and I am love. I chose the second one because it looked like a mother with her children. I believe family overall is an example of the power of love. Also, the title stood out to me so I’ll be looking more into this piece! “Venus of Doves” The last one was a simple reminder of the power of love through nature. I believe love is incomplete without nature, the universe, the higher power. Im a huge believer that love can conquer all and the self, family, and the universe are all components that manifest the power of love.

WEEK ONE, DONE….

Overall I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the class discussion and the assignments. The readings were complicated for me but after class I was able to have somewhat a better understanding. Still have to work on them though!

-M.O.

--

--