Branding Design — Project #3

Marlena Ciecierski
3 min readMar 17, 2024

--

Restaurant Concepts

I started my ideation off with three completely different restaurant ideas, then I slowly narrowed it down to two concepts before creating my idea boards.

Ideas Based on Categories

  1. pet-friendly, coffee house, small town cafe
  2. book-lovers, Polish, tea room
  3. artists, donuts, soda fountain

3 Potential Restaurant Names

  1. Waggle, MuttCup, Bark Blend
  2. Ink and Brew, Brew and Bind, Scribe
  3. FizzPalette, SodaPop, Artisweets

5 Potential Restaraunt Taglines

  1. “furry friends, frothy delights: a perfect blend”, “tail-wagging taste in every cup”, “a perfect blend”, “because pets are customers too”, “for coffee lovers and their faithful companions”
  2. “feed your mind, nourish your soul”, “where words and flavors intertwine”, “escape reality, one sip at a time”, “explore the world of literature with a taste of Poland”, “where books meet Polish flavors for a unique experience”
  3. “sugar coated inspiration awaits”, “sweeten your inspiration”, “indulge in artful sweetness”, “where art meets sweetness”, “fuel your creativity with our donuts and soda fountain!”

2 Idea Boards

After narrowing down to two concepts, I created idea boards based on the two ones that I felt will be the most successful or interesting.

idea board for #1, pet-friendly, coffee house, small town cafe
idea board for #3, artists, donuts, soda fountain

Sketches and Research

Thumbnails

thumbnail sketches for chosen concept, #3, artists, donuts, soda fountain, using the name sodapop
type and color study based on my original moodboard

Finalizing

B&W Type/Image Variations

Once I received feedback on my thumbnail sketches, I combined some of the imagery/layouts from #2, #7, and #24 to create the finalized concepts above. I was the most attached to the simple donut idea, and wanted to focus on exploring different versions of that.

Final Tagline:

“locally sweet!”

Type and Color

After receiving feedback, I narrowed down my logo into these two variations — one with the type and imagery overlapping, and the other where the bubbles float above the type a bit. I also began experimenting with secondary typefaces and placement.
Before deciding on secondary type, I also began experimenting with some of the bright colors from my moodboard.

In-Progress Critique Notes

These were the notes that were provided by my peers on different aspects of this project before working to the final product.
After reading through the feedback I received, I began to narrow down colors into the palette to the right, as well as creating some alternate marks.
Finally, after one last critique, this ended up being my final SodaPop logo, along with four different alternate marks, and a bottle and paper bag as collateral.

--

--