mini-bar of the newly-blessed house of my brother

House Blessing

( A Filipino Tradition)

Marlo Perez
2 min readMay 21, 2013

--

Yesterday. We went to my brother’s new house in Cambridge Cubao Quezon City for the blessing and celebration of their new home. Usually in Philippines’ tradition once we transferred to our new house, it will never be complete if the blessing from the Catholic priest has not been officiated. And of course there should be a celebration coupled with foods and drinks. My brother invited some relatives/cousins and some friends near their home to greet the occasion.

Catholic priest initiated the blessing of the new house.

It was a sunny and hot Sunday noon when the priest arrived and initiated the Bible reading and made some important advice on the blessing of the new house of my brother. It is a tradition here in the Philippines to have a house blessing to officially welcome the owner of the new place. It is also the time that the priest bless the entire area with the blessed water to put away bad spirits if any.

one of the menu in the house blessing.

There were many guest who greeted my brother’s house blessing. My cousins Tita Grace, Mary Grace, Heidi together with her husband, my friend Junior and others had spend the afternoon to be in the new place.

Mary Grace, me, my brother Henry and Junior

Once again congratulations to my Kuya Henry and Ate Glady for their wonderful new home!

I hope I could have one too.

--

--

Marlo Perez

Blogger. MBA graduate. Filipino. Working in Makati. Purchasing professional