10 Things I Have Learned

--

By Danny Smith

Image Credit Wikipedia

Hello, all! So a few things: I survived my first semester, AND returned for more craziness! I think that since I haven’t posted since mid-November, the best way to move forward with this blog is to simply create a list that characterizes what I have learned about myself, my practice, and life in the last few months. Sorry for those of you that were expecting or hoping for a play by play of the last two months, but 1)that would take forever, and 2) I couldn’t even tell you everything due to my wonderful memory. So. Here it is…

Prior to this experience, I knew I was adventurous, but not more so than my typical peer at school.

#1. Simpler IS better.

One thing I realized on my trip to Anchorage for Thanksgiving as well as my trip back to the Lower 48 for Christmas, is that we as people outside of the bush, are incredibly fortunate — and with that fortune comes complexity. By this I mean that there is a constant buzz that never quite stops in this type of living. Be it the physical buzz of electronics (which we still have here, but there was a difference), the background noise of cars always driving, the constant on-the-go with concrete set planning, or just the day-to-day craziness of that lifestyle. It is difficult to explain this, but there is a difference. And it is easily noticeable after only a few months being away.

#2. I talk WAY too loudly and quickly.

My students have zero problem telling me this. It is usually too loudly now, but I realized going back to Illinois that we speak very quickly and do not care how many words it takes to make a point. I have learned to slow my speaking down and choose more precise words to get my point across so that I do not ramble, or appear to be doing so. Despite what my students may say, I noticed that my talking WAS slower when I went back to see family, due to my having to speed it up slightly when speaking with friends to match their own speed and cadence. The loudness on the other hand… well I’m part-deaf from loud music and part-Irish… that will probably never improve much to my students’ dislike.

#3. I am more adventurous than I thought.

When I went back to Marquette and Illinois, I would talk about things that are incredibly commonplace in my life now (such as $10 half gallons of milk and watching people in my window dump literal buckets of $#!& out in a large dumpster), and people would be amazed and mention how they could never do it. Prior to this experience, I knew I was adventurous, but not more so than my typical peer at school.

#4. It is possible to teach without the assistance of alcohol after a long day.

Self-explanatory. Teacher friends don’t believe me? Try it. You’ll lose weight and re-discover your love for games such as Pay Day, Cards Against Humanity, and others. Also movies. Lots and lots of movie time.

#5. I will never complain about the cost of something down South ever again.

Where do I begin? The $26 tub of generic ice cream? Or the $12 frozen pizza? Wait… what about the $12 half gallon of OJ or the $15 bag of Malt-o-Meal (off-brand) cereal. Cable is no longer an option due to the prices (somewhere around $300 for a basic package). Internet is no longer unlimited, and our 100 GIG package runs $300. And here I thought that Time Warner in Milwaukee were jerks about their pricing too… (unlimited wifi and basic cable with on demand ran about $150 altogether!). The only thing that has been fairly priced as of now is the cell phone bill: about $110 for two lines sharing eight GIGS of data.

#6. Embracing one’s faith while living in a small community of a different faith is incredibly difficult.

This is not only something that I have found to be true, but a truth amongst almost all teachers here. I do not believe that there are two teachers here with identical religious views. Mainly all are Christian but different denominations. This creates some interesting conversation from time to time, which is nice as I love hearing other peoples’ ideas and beliefs, BUT when it comes to everyone’s worship and rituals, it’s difficult to be religious about it. Pun intended.

#7. Alaska is a country.

I joke. BUT the amounts of times I have heard students’ confusion about Alaska being an actual part of the United States is ridiculous! Fortunately, for the most part, the majority of the high schoolers understand this. However, the idea that Alaska (any state for that matter) has its own government AND the United States has its own government is far too abstract for many students to grasp.

#8. Poverty doesn’t mean unhappiness.

Being in one of the most highly impoverished areas of the US, as well as one of the highest areas for suicide and mental illnesses including addiction, I had expected an almost direct causation. However, despite some correlation, it does not appear to have a large impact. If anything, in a backwards sense, the poverty causes happiness. Let me explain. Without, there would be little to no need to hunt for food. This would mean that my young men would not be able to have to good feelings of providing for the family. Which would also mean no throwing parties for a first successful hunt, which spreads that joy and happiness to the rest of the community. All my students would have no reason to sit in the cold and ice fish or set nets. Many times I will hear students discuss ice fishing plans for after school or the weekend. Now, do not put words into my mouth and say that many of these families wish to stay below the poverty line or that being able to afford laundry more often would be a terrible thing. I’m simply stating some observations. And not to say that there are no problems in the villages either, as that is nowhere close to being true.

#9. Desolate and flat can be beautiful.

I have learned to see the beauty in even -20 degrees, white, and flat. It is funny, because going off of almost everything else in this post, you learn to love and cherish the small things. Such as the way ice crystals freeze to the railings of the teacher housing walk way, or color variations of greens and yellows in the tall grass before freeze up. Nature, regardless of initial aesthetic, is beautiful.

Image Credit: Wikipedia

#10. I know nothing as a teacher.

This last one isn’t entirely true. However, when they tell you that your craft is always being honed and you continuously learn new skills and strategies, it is incredibly true. I know enough to be a productive member of a school, but that is such a small amount compared to when I think about all the things I do not know how to do or when to do it, or anything else. I remember in my interview with the Kipnuk staff, I was asked to place myself in a second-semester of second year teacher’s shoes, and that a veteran teacher or admin had noticed something about my class that they thought could be improved. I was then asked how I would respond, and my ‘automated’ response was that as a teacher, we never stop growing and learning, so I would not be offended or anything about a constructive criticism. At the time, I think that of course I would say that. That’s along the lines of what people would like to hear, and it has been beaten into my head the last four years of my life. However, it is not until after this first semester that I have discovered just how true this statement is.

Overall, I have learned a lot in the past few months. I have also learned that I definitely would like to remain here in Kipnuk in the future. It has won me over, and though there are many tough times, the fewer had better ones outweigh them. With this new semester that started last week, I hope that I continue to learn, improve, and grow as a person, spiritually, and professionally. In the words of my students when they abruptly end conversation: K, bye.

PS! MY SENIORS WOULD LIKE TO TRAVEL FOR A SENIOR TRIP. TYPICALLY FUNDRAISING WOULD HAVE BEGAN MONTHS AGO, BUT LATE START, AND LUCKY ME, I AM IN CHARGE. WITH THAT SAID, ONE WAY I AM FUNDRAISING IS THROUGH GOFUNDME.COM. IF YOU COULD DONATE AND SHARE TO OTHERS THAT WOULD BE WONDERFUL. OUR GOAL IS ABOUT $18K BY MAY SOOOOOO IT IS QUITE A LONG SHOT BUT WITH THE HELP OF YOU AND YOUR FRIENDS WE CAN DO IT!

PSS! No pictures lately due to me being afraid that the severe cold might damage the camera soooooooo think of ice with a thin layer of packed down snow on top of it. Now imagine that for as far as you can see. There. There’s your picture. Quyana!

Image Credit: Pixabay

After graduating from the College of Education in 2016, Danny Smith is teaching high school Social Studies in the village of Kipnuk, Alaska. Kipnuk has a population of a little over 600 people and is predominately Yup’ik (an Alaskan Native group with strong traditions and great pride). Kipnuk, as with all the surrounding villages, has no road access and visitors fly in a small Cessna to and fro.

Follow Danny’s adventures on his blog A Fascinating Journey.

--

--

Marquette University College of Education

The College of Education is focused on preparing educators, administrators, mental health and student affairs professionals who are committed to social justice,