The Surprising Benefits of Laughter: Why a Good Sense of Humor is More Than Just a Laughing Matter

Marsaj
2 min readFeb 1, 2023

I never thought that my love for dad jokes would lead to anything other than a few laughs and a few eye-rolls from my friends and family. But, little did I know, my silly sense of humor would change my life in more ways than one.

It all started when I was feeling down. I had just gone through a tough breakup and my job was getting me down. I was feeling pretty low and just couldn’t seem to shake it. That was, until I stumbled upon a study that showed the benefits of laughter.

Intrigued, I did some more research and was amazed at what I found. Laughter has been shown to boost the immune system, reduce stress, and even improve heart health. It can also increase endorphins, which can help boost mood and decrease pain.

So, I decided to put this information to the test. I made a conscious effort to surround myself with people who made me laugh and I started telling more jokes, even if they were cheesy and corny. And you know what? It worked. My mood improved, I felt more relaxed and stress-free, and my friends and family noticed the change in me.

But, that’s not all. My newfound love for laughter and humor also helped me in my personal and professional life. I started to see the humor in everyday situations, which helped me to remain calm and composed in stressful situations. I also found that my sense of humor was a great icebreaker in social and professional settings, and it helped me to connect with others on a deeper level.

So, there you have it. Who knew that a silly sense of humor could have such a profound impact on one’s life? If you’re feeling down, try incorporating more laughter into your day. You might just be surprised at the benefits.

--

--

Marsaj

Marsaj is a seasoned writer with 10 years of writing experience. Writing is her passion as it is a way of expression and catharsis for her.