My Coding Boot Camp Experience

From novice to employed developer

Sam Marsman
4 min readFeb 18, 2023
Photo by Florian Olivo on Unsplash

Coding boot camps are a popular way to learn the skills required to get a job as a software engineer. I attended one in 2018 to learn full-stack development. Was it worth it? Would I recommend it to others? Did it prepare me for a career as a developer? Find out after this commercial break (later in this article).

Why I Attended a Boot Camp

Saying that college wasn’t for me is an understatement. I tried four times. I’m not proud of that, but the lack of structure, navigating new social dynamics, and all of the other stresses that college brings about was not good for my young adult self. I still had big aspirations and craved a career that would actually challenge me. Then I came across a free online coding course (freecodecamp). I fell in love.

I began taking programming courses at a local university part-time (college attempt number three). One and a half semesters in and I couldn’t take it anymore. I found out about coding boot camps and began researching them obsessively. I applied to one that catered to women and non-binary people.

Application and Preparation

The application process was straightforward. I heard back from them quickly and set up an initial phone call with someone from the team. After speaking with her, I decided to move forward with the coding interview. I was really nervous about this since I was applying to the boot camp to level up my (very minimal) coding skills. The interview was very simple, and I got in! Now I had to move from Florida to Silicon Valley to attend the 12-week program. Thankfully, I had family there to stay with or it wouldn’t have been financially feasible for me. Now many boot camps offer virtual courses which creates an opportunity for so many more people to attend.

Daily Structure

The course was eight hours a day, five days a week. The day began with a short lesson or a lightening talk. We then had a lesson that lasted 1–2 hours followed by time to work on an assignment to apply what we learned in the lesson. I found the exercises to be most beneficial in really understanding what was being taught. We’d break for lunch, come back for another lesson, and have more time for another assignment or to work on our personal project. Throughout the course, we all built a website of our own to present to the class and recruiters at the end of the 12 weeks.

Culture and Support

The boot camp I attended allowed only female and non-binary students. My cohort was about 12 women, and I loved it. At 24, I was the second youngest student and several students were in their 30s and 40s. The culture was very positive and encouraging. The instructors both seemed invested in setting us up to become successful developers. Toward the end of the 12 weeks, a career counselor met with us individually several times to discuss what type of role we wanted to get after finishing the program. We also spent several lessons practicing technical interviews and learning about how to navigate the job application and interview process.

Down Sides

There’s only so much information that can be covered in a 12 week period. In my first developer role, I was very aware of the things I didn’t learn in the boot camp. Some of this was my own insecurity, but I was suffering from severe imposter syndrome for far too long. I slowly filled in my knowledge gaps. I’m still learning so much to this day, but that’s the whole reason I wanted to join this industry! Most boot camps are a big financial investment — finding one that offers scholarships or payment programs can help with this.

Support After Graduation

After finishing the program, there were regular networking and recruiting events for alumni to attend. I went to one at LinkedIn that gave me some insight into what I wanted and didn’t want in a job. They gave out gold-painted coffee mugs that were *not* microwave-friendly (which I learned the hard way).

Is It Worth It?

The boot camp was a great learning environment for me — immersive, structured, and fast-paced. It is expensive, but it’s much cheaper than a 4-year degree from a university. On the other hand, becoming a self-taught developer is absolutely feasible. It would require a lot of hard work, motivation, and discipline, but it’s an option for those looking for a cheaper, more flexible learning path. When deciding which path to choose, it’s important to consider your learning style, financial situation, and the time you’re willing to invest.

I hope reading about my experience helps you make a decision to attend or not attend a coding boot camp. No matter what, don’t forget what drew you to coding in the first place!

--

--

Sam Marsman

Data engineer. College dropout. Interested in tech, equality, and caramel corn.