Blue Sky Ideation

Anthony Martinez
4 min readOct 25, 2018

--

How might we make shared transportation a more viable form of transportation?

Individual Idea Generation

New Warm-Up Game — Noise Guessing

Noise Guessing is nearly self explanatory in the title itself. This game can be played with an unlimited amount of people. To start the game, there will be one person who makes a noise for a few seconds. This noise can be anything that the noise maker desires, but it should be distinguishable for the sake of progression. The remainder of the players must guess what this noise is or where it comes from. The first person to guess the noise correctly is then appointed as the next noise maker, and the game repeats itself. For example, the noise maker would say, “Quack! Quack!” and the first person to guess “duck” would be correct and would then be the new noise maker. My new warm-up game is one where quick wit and efficient association skills are rewarded; however, there is no winner. The objective of the game is to stimulate the brain using sounds, urgency, creativity, and one’s imagination.

Session Organization

My participants are all friends of mine who I have known for a some time now. Jackson, Christian, Carter, and Nick all agreed to join my group brainstorming session after I told them that I would reward them with money. Creating a group for this segment of the assignment was the hardest part, as I could not get anyone to join me without providing an incentive to participate. We held the brainstorming session in my apartment, where I told them all to rid themselves of anything that may be distracting, including phones, computers, fidgeting objects, and video-games; however, I let them use these things (FIFA 2018) to warm up their brains before we played my new warm-up game(Noise Guessing). I thought it would be beneficial to have two completely different types of warm-ups in order to stimulate different parts of the brain that could improve our collective creative process. Afterwards, we Dedicated half an hour to brainstorming. We came up with 62 ideas. I did not make new cards for my independent idea generation ideas from the first segment, but I presented the participants with my ideas during the thirty minutes we spent making ideas so that they may provide inspiration and so that they will be considered in the voting process.

Sorting and Voting

We used a voting system very similar to how we previously voted on ideas in class. We used “most interesting” and “most creative” as the criteria that the ideas were rated with. Each person got to vote 12 times: 6 times for the most interesting ideas and 6 times for the most creative ideas. Each person used an orange marker and a blue marker to vote, writing “I” in orange marker to designate their choices for most interesting and writing “C” in blue marker to to designate their choices for most creative.

Top Ideas

Credit to me
Credit to me
Credit of Jackson
Credit to Carter
Credit to Jackson
credit to Christian
Credit to Carter
Credit to Christian
Credit to Carter
Credit to Christian

--

--