Polar — Movie Review

M@rtgit
2 min readMay 16, 2023

--

Rummaging through Netflix to find a worthy movie can sometimes be a painful experience, especially for those who have watched a lot. However, I stumbled upon “Polar” and was intrigued by the brief description. I decided to take a chance, give it a go and die with it.

Right from the start, I appreciated the dark theme and stylish approach that the acting embraced. The main character, played by the seasoned Mads Mikkelsen, is a placed in a hitman’s conundrum. Mikkelsen’s talent in portraying these types of characters, who communicate more through their serious expressions than words, is well-known. In my opinion, though, I felt that the movie’s plot and writing were more ambitious than their execution.

The story revolves around Duncan Vizla, also known as Herr Black Kaiser, an assassin facing retirement complications. Some pension schemes are absurd, requiring guns for follow-ups and updates. These updates may involve “erasing” one’s existence from the database. However, Herr Kaiser also unexpectedly gives a career talk to a local primary school, adding an interesting layer to the character dynamics. Vanessa Hudgens, playing the character Camille, provides a nice balance to Duncan Vizla’s toughness and adds a touch of emotional depth.

When the action finally kicks in, my so-called emotional depth dissipates into thin air. “Try not to be scared”… those words resonate as the movie showcases a snippet of amazing sniper action sequences. The camera follows the trajectory of the bullet, providing an entertaining visual experience. Even for an actor of Mads Mikkelsen’s caliber, the level of John Wick-style action in this film was surprising and expanded my future expectations of his performances. As for the plot twist at the end, it neither enhanced nor detracted from the overall impact of the movie.

Kathryn Winnick’s portrayal of a sub villain was decent, perhaps even better than the main villain, who I found to be rather childish and annoying. This further strengthened my belief that the movie and its writing had the potential to be better than their execution.

However, I must mention that “Polar” is not recommended for viewers under 16 or for those who are easily intimidated. I also recommend that you dont watch it with a crowd that makes you shy.

Overall, I would rate this movie 6.6/10.

--

--

M@rtgit

Movies are my go-to for relaxation. Tech work still pays, but when COB hits, I can't wait to dive into some awesome movies and series.