Effective Communication? Your Guess is As Good As Mine

Martha Kelly
2 min readMar 5, 2023

--

Image at Pumble.com

According to the good people at Pumble.com, the 7 C’s of Communication are Clarity, Coherence, Confidence, Correctness, Conciseness, Concreteness and Courtesy.

Many mouthfuls. I am exhausted and quite entertained thinking about the daily frequency with which I fail miserably to successfully demonstrate my (probably poorly thought-out) point.

Often when I converse, initially I spit out a word or two. Three, if I’m feeling daring.

I have no shame in admitting I am always hopeful my respondent will know exactly what I’m getting at without requiring further C-word evidence.

Usually my caveperson-ing is thwarted and I have to express myself reluctantly, bearing in mind at least 2.5 C’s.

It has taken me YEARS to get the hang of communicating. Even now I wouldn’t say I’m much more the wiser.

I find it virtually impossible to disentangle meaning from many of the conversations to which I’m privy on a daily basis.

Perhaps the reason is often people produce words without saying anything at all. Some politicians spring to mind? The art of multiple word-ing, without clear conveyance. It PISSES ME OFF.

I love conversation, it’s beautiful. Living by myself sometimes means I don’t get to partake anywhere near as often as I’d prefer.

That is, GOOD conversation. Small talk is the bane of my existence.

I want to talk about eating. And sleep quality. And about other conversations people have had and with whom. I want tips on how to avoid offending people when I’m tired, hungry or hormonal.

I like hearing about what is really going on with someone. The sort of stuff I imagine people might consider ‘oversharing.’ I think it’s how I relate to others.

Currently my main hobby is unravelling what the scruck is going on with me, in my body and brain. I like hearing other people’s stories — what they’re worrying about and the means by which they’ve overcome strife.

I’ve realised people often state they have a headache, or a dodgy knee or an achy gallbladder when they’re feeling frazzled.

I guess it’s still deemed weird in certain societal situations admitting to feeling shaky here and there. Which sucks.

I’d love it if just for a day, everyone’s inner monologue was all they could express. I think it’d be a treat and magical to hear just how human we all really are.

I can’t wait to write more about my own cacophonous inner babble next time.

--

--