Minimalism Living

Martha Madero de Putz
3 min readNov 6, 2017

--

Minimalism — Documentary from Netflix

So, I just watched the documentary “Minimalism, a documentary about the important things”. I think this concept of living is too radical but quite pure. It was an eye opening documentary.

I have to be honest, I am such a marketing victim and I really can’t help myself, I actually do marketing, so I could never really be the purest form of a minimalist. However, the idea of this concept has helped me consider some changes in my lifestyle (yeah I’ve only just recently watched it and I really think this can change my way of living).

The documentary and the concept is about loosing things, to keep only the things that matter. Love people and not things, and the release of attachment to stuff (this is so hard for me because I do feel a connection to some of my stuff). This is a documentary about 2 guys that started living this way, and they want to share this movement with the world because it has helped them be happier. Go see it now, it’s on Netflix.

We happen to always want stuff to impress people, to define ourselves as succesfull, or what others have told us is the definition of success. I happen to have stuff that I think defines me, my style or even my personality. I don’t like an empty house, I don’t like a horrible blouse on me (maybe what I am wearing is horrible to someone else but not to me), I can’t help it. But maybe there are some other things that I can start to loose as a start of some type of minimalistic lifestyle.

I was recently thinking about changing my car and how it is time for me and my husband to get a new one, a bigger one. Why? Because it is simply just old in my mind and I’m thinking, now would be a time to sell at a good price for me to consider buying a new one. If I don’t buy a car, it would be the first year to be debt free (because we finish paying my husband’s car) and we would have two decent cars that really work well for us. I have however, in the back my mind that need for a new one… I don’t even understand why, I have been trying to convince my husband of buying it without really having enough arguments to do so.

I have my car, it may be old but it works perfectly, it looks beautiful to be honest and it doesn’t even look old. Why do I feel the urge to change it? Would that provide me with a sense of satisfaction? With happiness? Am I trying to impress people?

I have come to believe by watching this idea of living in a minimalistic form that “stuff” won’t make me feel more happy. I want to do more things that make me happy and the money I have to spend would be spend on basic necessities or experiences. This is not a great time for me to start doing this you know with the new iPhone release and christmas coming soon, but I have to do it now, to be able to prove myself that I can let go of material things and I can even be happier than I already am. If I had a life goal it would be to increase my happiness, I mean shouldn’t everyone?

We are in this world just passing by, just living, why don’t we just enjoy it? Without thinking about what anyone else wants for you, but what you want for you.

What really makes us successful is what makes us happy.

Spending our lives in experiences to share with the people we love, people who share your way of thinking, of living, of perceiving life, this is something I enjoy, and I happen to do this less often that I would like. I want to do this more.

Hopefully this movie can help me think less of stuff and more about experiences that make me happy. I want to start today. I want to really be remembered by what I am, what I do for me and for others.

“When you recognize that this life is yours, it is your one and only life, then everything changes” — A.J Leon, Former Wall Street Broker.

--

--