marthaquest
1 min readDec 18, 2016

--

Rebecca Solnit uses ‘the Resistance’ tag a lot (see her facebook). She’s also one of the big voices for the Hamilton Electors and pushing like mad for that tomorrow. I’ve admired her writing in the past (on mansplaining and environmentalism) but since the primary, when she became a pro-Hillary spokesperson scolding and silencing Bernie supporters, she’s alarmed me. Pam Houston is similar, and quotes Solnit often on her Pam L. Houston FB page which is a center of pro-HRC activism and emotional sharing. Both women loudly label themselves as leftist, feminist writers and both have lots of followers. I’ve always considered myself a leftist feminist but seeing these 2, plus other HRC-bots and their online presence, has totally shaken up my understanding of these self-annoited labels, and more importantly, my faith in the Democratic party. I hate Trump; my feelings for HRC and her band are not much warmer.

--

--