Beyoncé Formation

tice happy
3 min readFeb 9, 2016

--

Since I was a young girl I loved Beyoncé. When I was in elementary school I asked my mom to braid my hair like hers. Instead I came out looking more like Queen Latifah from Set It Off. I guess my mom just didn’t have the heart to tell me no or she thought her skills were better than what they really were. I still find some of Beyoncé’s music good. However, I am not a die-hard fan like I was in my childhood. My taste and standards have changed. With that being said many people know that I am a Christian. Therefore, before even hearing the song people told me I would not like it and that she has gone to the extreme. Honestly, I probably would have never listened to it if people did not drop that bug in my ear so be careful what you preach. I am an individual, I march to the tune of my own drum and sometimes I rebel. Yes, I am a Christian but I am also a young black woman, a student, a writer, I enjoy art and I appreciate talent.

With that being said, I loved Beyoncé’s new song Formation and the message it portrayed. Do I think everything was needed? No. But I take it with a grain of salt. I think many people were taken aback because she freely used the words b#*%*es and h*es, and she openly talked about sexuality. I guess I’m perplexed because people are not so easily offended when men do it because it has been so normalized. Let’s not forget that these same critics are probably the ones who openly curse and discuss with their friends what they did last night.

Because many people were so concerned with the things they are accustom to, I think they missed a lot of messages within the song and video. For instance, there is a scene with a sinking police car that Beyoncé so graciously laid across. Another scene had a young black boy dancing in front of police officers with his hands up. Beyoncé stated, “I like my baby’s hair with baby hair and afros. I like my Negro nose with Jackson Five nostrils.” I always wondered why her child’s hair was never combed. I guess she wanted to end that mystery. I find it interesting that she made a reference to the Jackson Five because many people know that Michael Jackson was not too fond of his nose and put in over time to change it. However, with her statement she glorified it and showed that blackness and its features are beautiful.

Beyoncé stated, “You mix that Negro with that Creole you get a Texas Bama.” She is a light skin woman with blonde hair. Many people would like to dismiss her blackness or would like to think that she dismisses it herself. Let’s not forget that blackness comes in many shapes and fashions. No one has much to say when the average black woman goes to buy those expensive bags of hair that they can barely afford so why hate on the next woman simply because she is on your TV screen. Beyoncé ended with saying, “You know you that b%*#* when you cause all of this conversation. Always stay gracious. The best revenge is your paper.” She does things to make people talk and sure enough they fall into the trap even if they don’t like her. They say all talk is good talk. I tend to disagree but in this case it may be true. While Beyoncé is out living her dreams, she has people watching her do it. If people would go out and do the same then may be there would be less talk and more change.

--

--

tice happy

I just want to get the message out about self love and be a light in the mist of darkness