Vicuna-13B: Best Free ChatGPT Alternative According to GPT-4 🤯 | Tutorial (GPU)

Martin Thissen
5 min readApr 5, 2023

Wow, in my last article I already showed you how to set up the Vicuna model on your local computer, but the results were not as good as expected.

For this reason, I created a fork and basically merged two repositories to get the Vicuna model up and running, and what can I say, the responses and especially the quality of the responses are insane. Forget alpaca, seriously! You don’t believe me? Follow the steps in this article and convince yourself.

If you like videos more, feel free to check out my YouTube video to this article:

You don’t have your own GPU? Don’t worry, I have also created a Colab notebook that you can run to interact with the model. To understand why the model can run in a Colab notebook, make sure to have a look at the section where I show details about the GPTQ quantization technique.

Foundation: Install Conda

It is always recommended to use a clean and new environment for each project. So if you don’t work with Anaconda yet, feel free to install it as your friend for dealing with different Python environments:

wget…

--

--

Martin Thissen

Writing Articles on How to Use AI Models and How They Work