Starting out in Crypto with Hi expectations.

Martin Percival
3 min readDec 15, 2021

--

Image of two hi dollars

It’s a day for new beginnings, a day to start writing on Medium and to simultaneously start my journey into cryptocurrencies.

I’ve worked in IT for my entire career and I can probably even claim to understand some things about blockchain. I’ve also invested in stocks and shares for quite a few years. But damn, it feels like you need to be making ritual sacrifices to get going in crypto.

So if you’ve read all the hype about great earnings in crypto but been bemused by all the technical details of getting started, then welcome to the party.

I’ve read about everyone making squillions overnight and I’m not so proud that I wouldn’t mind a bit of that….maybe half a squillion would do….but I’m not keen on going “all in” with my savings. So what’s a newbie to do?

Enter Hi

I wanted to be able to experiment with some of the ideas of crypto without burning through my own cash just yet and after looking around, I found Hi.

This is a project, started in Singapore, that is trying to set up a decentralised currency that is fast enough to be used for real-world transactions and robust enough to be trusted by institutions as well as crypto enthusiasts.

So far, so normal.

What caught my eye for my baby step experiments, is that they will let you set up an account relatively quickly on your phone, your browser, or in Telegram or WhatsApp and from then on, you can earn 1 Hi Dollar a day for just signing in and answering a quick survey question.

Why bother for a (Hi) dollar?

It doesn’t sound like much, does it, but each Hi Dollar is currently about $1.40, already up from $1.20 in ten days, so you have the usual promise of growth.

It won’t buy you a car in week one….and may never do so, I suppose….but I’m finding the morning ritual takes only a few seconds and I can see a stash of 365 Hi Dollars next year being worth enough to buy some of next year’s Christmas presents.

More importantly, you are also rewarded for introducing others to Hi. As they collect their Dollar every day, you are rewarded too and who knows, you may have a lot more than those 365 Dollars in a year.

Getting Hi

Yes, it’s a cheap joke, but they use it themselves so I don’t feel too bad!

You will need just a few things to sign up (as I did last week). The key element is a unique mobile phone number, as this is how you are distinguished from every other Hi user.

After that, you’ll need an introduction from an existing user. You can just click on the link below to get started with mine if that helps:

Sign up to Hi

Or you can just use the name definovice in the app based signups. As you can tell, I consider myself to be a real beginner to this Decentralised Finance stuff!

Then you get to choose your own “name” or “handle” and remember that you can use this to recommend Hi to others too.

Finally, if you want to do much more, you’ll need to jump through the hoops of proving who you are (a process known as “Know Your Customer” or KYC), and this will ask for something like a driving license. I found it easier to do the whole thing on the phone app, as you have easy access to a camera to photograph the license when needed.

Continuing the journey

Good luck getting started if this appeals to you.

As for me, from these small beginnings I’m hoping to branch out into other areas, tokens and coins, so feel free to follow me if you are also learning your way into this new world…..we should compare notes.

--

--