Two-Step Flow Theory: Skepticism Towards Opinion Leaders

Martin Reyes Arandia
2 min readJan 30, 2024

--

Two-step flow theory states that media content reaches people known as “opinion leaders” first, and from there the content reaches others. Similar to a faucet of flowing water through a kitchen sink drain, “opinion leaders” are some of the first to receive the “flow” of information. This allows them to collect, interpret and potentially filter information before releasing the information to their audiences. This can lead to a summarization of a highly detailed report, making difficult topics easier to digest. This can also lead to a loss of significant details to a story, or an addition of a biased view to a news report.

YouTube content creator “penguinz0” has been a popular and otherwise trustworthy opinion leader I get my “creator” news from, yet I reference similar opinion leaders to be cautious.

With a growing amount of fake news and misinformation, skepticism among the public of news outlets and even “opinion leaders” have grown out of necessity. In my own news gathering and routines I have become very intentional with my wording when relaying information to others. “I haven’t read the article, but the headline said…” or “I don’t know if this is true, but on the news…” have become common phrases in my sharing routines, to not only protect myself from spreading false information, but also to remind the people I am telling to remain skeptical and cautious.

Collecting information has become difficult, having to cross-reference several news sources noting similarities and differences between the same reports. “Opinion leaders” I follow are some of the most well informed members within communities and act as the songbirds of their community’s well being. However, I am cautious to use them as an indicator that there is news, and not necessarily if the news is true, good, or bad.

“Neon Tide” is a song which partially utilized AI technology that provides commentary on the how discerning the truthfulness behind news and media has become increasingly blurred partly due to evolutions in technology.

I wonder if I am optimistic in thinking that in the near future, the majority of people will share a similar level of skepticism of how news trickles it way down to them, and how they trickle the same information down to others who may revere them as an “opinion leader”.

--

--