5 Signs Of Trauma You Believe Is Your Personality

Cheyenne Martinez
2 min readJan 8, 2024
Photo by Vince Fleming on Unsplash

Trauma is not only what happens to you but also what happens inside you.

Trauma is much more talked about today than when I was younger. When I had difficulty learning in school or symptoms of what I now know is anxiety, I was given tablets for a learning disability or split personality. This was the experience for me and my other 13 adopted siblings. Yes, 13 adopted siblings.

This was fun with so many siblings but came with a lot of trauma. Each one of us experienced a childhood of abuse and trauma. It was not until my later teenage years that I began to question some things. When half of my siblings are already knee-deep in drugs or other self-destructive behavior. I had a fortunate experience at 13 when my kidney started to go into failure and I was forced to stop all medications for ADHD, Bipolar disorder and God knows what else. My childhood psychiatrist completed testing to find out I no longer needed all these medications. This was an opportunity to ask deeper questions.

I began to realize that what I thought was my personality was actually behavior that stemmed from trauma.

Here are 5 signs of trauma that you may believe are your personality:

  1. Over thanking when someone is kind to you because you are not used to kindness, respect, etc

--

--

Cheyenne Martinez

I’m passionate about business, travel, mental health and more. I'm always looking for ways to improve & advance in these area. I’m excited to share my findings.