Arc Search — the stripped-down, AI-powered version of the Arc browser for my iPhone that browses the web for me

This month, I have rediscovered the Arc browser, or more specifically, its AI-powered iOS iteration called “Arc Search”, and it is amazing 👏🏼

Martin Tutko
2 min readFeb 7, 2024

In case you don’t know, Arc browser is the Chromium-based web browser developed by The Browser Company, featuring some innovative quirks and UI enhancements such as vertical tabs bar, spaces, split view, etc. Great UI and UX if you asked me.

Arc Search is basically a stripped-down version of this desktop browser developed for iPhone users. I downloaded it. I experimented with it, and I love it.😍

The web browsing of the future

For me personally, Arc Search introduces the browsing experience which hints at where the Internet (and our interaction with information in general) is heading. I’m convinced that the end of the Internet as we know it Today is imminent. The traditional websites of Today will be progressively replaced by more conversational interfaces where the information will be generated on-demand and personalised for each individual, pulling data from the large oceans of information, most of which will be somehow hidden from us. Btw: I plan to write a longer piece on this soon as these possible futures of the Internet fascinate me.

“Browse for Me” — my favourite feature that saves me from the painful experience of searching for something when short on time 👍🏼

Arc Search cleverly integrates AI-powered search with search result summarization, which enhances the browsing experience by miles. Here is how it works:

  1. I type in my query
  2. Arc then searches the web, and reads the most relevant web pages on my behalf
  3. And finally, it auto-generates a custom webpage with the summary, presenting the information back ot me in a clean and easy-to-understand format, including bullet points and images related to the search.

Isn’t this convenient? 👏🏼

In other words, it transforms the traditional and often painful search experience into something more digestible, fun to use, personal and relevant. If you are an iPhone user, don’t take my word for it. Instead, give it a shot and try it for yourself. 😊 And feel free to share your feedback in the comment section below.

Footnote: This article was written by a flawed yet authentic organic intelligence.

--

--

Martin Tutko

Thinking, researching and doing design since 1998. And as of 2023 also sharing and writing about some of my experiences as a product designer 😊🙏🏼