Bob Ross for 2017

Marty McDonough
1 min readSep 11, 2017

--

In the 80’s I loved watching Bob Ross paint landscapes on his show The Joy of Painting. Even though I can’t paint he made me feel like I could.

Bob Ross (Wikipedia)

Now 30 years later we have advanced from the vacuum tube to YouTube. Watching someone draw on camera is still considered the most advanced way to teach drawing. That is until you have ShadowDrawn ;)

If Bob Ross was around today he would be able draw and paint (future update) in ShadowDraw™. We would be able to follow along in Bob’s exact brush strokes. We would be able to hear his voice and learn his technique and feel like the artist he always wanted to teach us to be.

Often when I have shared ShadowDraw with people they say the app reminds them of Bob Ross and his great tutorials and I wanted to share my thoughts with you on the subject.

--

--