The New Life

Marvin Ferguson
2 min readNov 13, 2022

We know people by their character. A new life is worth more than gold and silver. What is your worth?

When I became a Christ-follower i was encouraged to let my light shine on other people. And rightfully so. Now I have a new character, old things have past away, and all things have become new.

Christ-followers always stand out in a crowd. They’re happy, display an attitude of real peace, are friendly, and have a bounce to their walk. Wow! I’m glad that I am a Christian.

What would it look like to live such a Christian life that others couldn’t help but notice? Peter gave us some helpful instruction here on how to shine our light before others by living with love, compassion, and humility.

The word “finally” at the start of today’s reading is important. Peter is completing a “thought unit” on how to live as God’s chosen people.

Love, compassion, and humility are essential Christian virtues. Obeying the series of commands in verses 8–9 will help us follow in Christ’s footsteps.

Believers should be like-minded, living in unity and humility (Phil. 2–2), as well as sympathetic, weeping with those who weep and rejoicing with those who rejoice (Rom. 12:15).

We’re to love one another (1:22; John 13:34–35).

--

--

Marvin Ferguson

I was the average kid on the block, born in Chicago, and never had a silver spoon in my mouth. I played baseball and like to write stories.