A journey of discovering myself

Maryam Bari
3 min readFeb 16, 2022

--

“Discovering Potential in myself”

The day when I got call from my Program Manager Ms. Khadijah and she told me that you are selected for this fellowship and I was in awe! She even asked me ain’t you excited to hear this news? and I was taking myself back to listen her “ Oh yes, of course I am very happy and excited to start this fellowship”.

At that point of my life, I was desperate and uncertain to do something extraordinary, closing myself into a shell. In that days, I was having thoughts that I can’t work/interact with people and I can’t be good at any thing. Honestly, I never expected this fellowship to be a whole transforming thing for my personality and how interact with people. For me Amal Fellowship is a journey of a girl who is ready to give up this precious opportunity at the first day because she can not interact to a self-confident and enthusiastic girl who is capable to do extraordinary things ( and extraordinary does not always mean to win medals and trophies)

In the first week, before the weekend, I and my fellows had “introductory voice notes” and that was of the people I have never met or worked with before. It felt good to know them all and after a while I got suffocated which I usually become by such interactions. Later on, at the first weekend session I did not even join for the same reason. I am forever grateful to my PM and PA (Ms. Khadijah and Sir Ahsan), that how politely they supported me to take the first step. There you go, second session went so well and I had quite positive energy all the day. After that, we got divided into circles for our project work and I had amazing time with them, working together and knowing each other, lifting and cheering each other up. Here my journey of change and self-believing began!

“Rising and Lifting”

After that, There was a lot of new things to learn, be it setting up the smart goals, knowing your why’s, design thinking and problem solving, time management and team work, leading without authority and building superhero resume, mock interviews and sparking weekend sessions, bonding with fellows and networking at different platforms, business writing and verbal communications, going extra mile and what not this fellowship has made me learned. Above all that, unleashing your potential and believing in yourself is what makes this journey more successful for me and will stay close to my heart ever.

While writing here, I am so proud of myself that I did it and get connected with so many precious people who helped me in one way or other. This is how we bloom. Thank you AMAL Academy and every single person behind the idea of this fellowship.

“Standing taller and stronger than ever before”

--

--

Maryam Bari

CA Student, Enthusiastic Learner and Ever Grateful.