--

Brian Connolly

What happened to Brian Connolly of The Sweet?

Ballroom Blitz

“Oh, it’s been getting so hard

Living with the things you do to me, ah-ah

My dreams are getting so strange

I’d like to tell you everything I see…

I'm reaching out for something

Touching nothing's all I ever do

Oh, I softly call you over

When you appear there’s nothing left of you, ah-ah”

My first article in ages was going to be Where Did Punk Really Originate? But I found myself as Im going into research about the The Sweet, Glam Rock etc (and John Lydons’s recent assertion that UK Punk was influenced by Glam Rock.) changing tack and my first article is actually "What Happened To Brian Connolly?"

Brian Connolly was the lead singer of The Sweet from its beginnings to 1979, a while after he’d been viciously attacked outside a venue and his throat severely kicked in. An end to a golden, kick arse voice? Well, not really because you can still hear his dulcet tones (he really could sing) on arguably The Sweets greatest hit, written by themselves "Love Is Like Oxygen" (1978).

Connolly, half brother to Taggart’s Mark MacManus was haunted in some sort of way by his 'orphan' roots. Left in a hospital in Glasgow, as a baby by his teenage…

--

--

The Lantern Fairy - Mary Martina Wogan

... the Arts, Music, Movies. I mostly write about Musicians, Designers, Artists & Actors. I have a B.A. in English Literature and History. 🏵️