IA#5: Reflections on “The Monuments Men”

1. Write your personal reactions to the content/ story of the film.

Mary Ranelle Magana
2 min readOct 11, 2016

First when I watched the first scene it sounds boring so I watched the movie skip by skip when we watched it in school but then I got curious to the flow of the movie, I really downloaded it and watched it again. When I finish the movie, I saw many lessons in the movie. I don’t regret downloading and watching it again because the flow of the story is really wonderful. I really saw the importance of art in a country. It makes me like inspired to love art better than before. Now, I really do want to go on museums and watch movies like that.

The story of the film is all about you should care what is yours. We should value the meaning of art because an art in a country does contribute many things in the country. We tend to appreciate the history of your culture and kind because by making an art out of our history is one of the best things that we can share with the other country and to know the next generations what is our history look like. Sacrifice if you need to sacrifice. Like the monuments men, they were really into fight just for the art. They need to protect the art and find the missing ones.

2. Write a critical analysis of the film itself (narrative, production, directing, cinematography, acting, etc.)

The flow of the film was really realistic. It inspires me a lot. The characters do their roles and responsibilities in the movie, they delivered their lines very good and they are really fit in their roles. The plots of the story were incredible. When they show the different kinds of artwork it really wows me. So the movie was greeeaat!! Two thumbs up for it!

3. If the Philippines had a set of “Monuments Men” during the World War 2, what could have happened differently? Is there a need for us to have a “Monuments Men” in the Armed Forces today? Please discuss.

Filipinos do have skills and talent but we don’t have unlimited armors or weapons to defeat or to fight against the Japan. If we do have Monuments Men during the World War 2, I think we’ll win among the Japan. But we still need to have a Monuments Men because the Monuments Men in the movie is really dedicated to their country, they don’t care if they will get harmed or die and that’s what we need in our country today.

--

--