Creating And S3 Bucket On AWS Upload An Index html file On It & Modify It To Be A Static Website

Masalakiebangura
3 min readApr 20, 2024

--

Overview

This is my awesome documentation of my first project at Level Up in Tech as a Cloud Engineer. And this project is about creating an S3 bucket in the AWS console and upload an index html file in it, and make sure to modify it so it can host a website that can be reachable through the internet. So I’m going to dive into the steps that I used to be able to create my S3 Bucket upload my index html file in it and make it public to the internet.

Step 1

At First I created my index html file before logging into my AWS Account and I click unto the search bar to find my S3 bucket, because that way is somehow quicker for me to find things. I then found it and click on create bucket, then it asked me to create a name for my bucket, they name I first created doesn’t work it says someone else has already used that name so I have to create another name and this time it works and my bucket was created successfully.

Step 2

After creating my index html file and S3 bucket I then move on to upload my file into my S3 bucket. After uploaded my file I then copy and paste my bucket website into a new browser to see if I can be able to access it but it says Access Denied. So I didn’t able to get access to my file.

Step 3

I realize that what I needed to do for me to be able to access my index html file is for me to enable the static website hosting. So for me to do that I click on properties scroll to the bottom click on the Static Website Hosting and I finds out it was Disable so I have to click on Enable and make sure I give my index document a name so I go on and give it a name so my website can be access. But I was yet to unable to get access my website, so what next I do is that I click on to permissions and make sure I unblock confirm and save all public access so my website can be access. And I then click on the Object Ownership option and make sure I enable the ACLs and then acknowledge and save it. After that I go back to my bucket click my index html file select the Actions button on the top corner, and I make sure to select the “Make public using ACL option and sure to make it public. After all that process I went back to my website refresh it and finally I was able to access my index html website.

Troy Ingram Zaire Ali Broadus Palmer Ifeanyi Otuonye (REXTECH)

--

--