Week 1: E-Commerce Store

Mason May
2 min readMar 8, 2020

--

Photo by rupixen.com on Unsplash

For my Praxis portfolio project, I am creating a dropship e-commerce store that is focused on selling smartphone products. For those who don’t know, Praxis is a 6-month business Bootcamp that results in an apprenticeship with a startup company. My final deliverable will be a running website with active Facebook ads.

Why Drop-shipping?

I love entrepreneurship. Running an e-commerce website from my laptop is almost a dream come true. Being the middleman and marketing a product straight from a supplier can be a great source of money. If you can create great quality ads you can generate a high volume of customers.

By the end of March, I want to have created a dropshipping business through Oberlo and Shopify. Oberlo is a website that connects you with suppliers. Oberlo allows you to browse, select, and import products to your Shopify site. Shopify is where the consumer will buy my product. My end goal is to make 100 sales.

The skills I will work on are:

  1. Copywriting
  2. Product research
  3. Social Media Advertising

I will also be using the following tech tools:

  1. FB Ads
  2. Google analytics,
  3. Kit (a CRM)

Some soft skills I hope to gain are:

  1. Knowledge of a typical sales process and funnel.
  2. An understanding of basic psychology as it relates to sales.
  3. The ability to implement and follow processes.

Here is my week to week outline:

Week 1: Research Drop Shipping, Create my Shopify site, Find the product to sell.

Week 2: Create an ad, start FB ads by the end of the week.

Week 3: Reach out to Instagram influencers to run my ads.

Week 4: Site back and run the site.

--

--