Authora mini blog- Starting without starting (Part One)

mat morse
2 min readMay 11, 2017

Whenever you start something new there is always this rush of excitement and creativity that drives you forward, for better or for worse.

In June of 2016, I started a project called Authora, which I made a plan to design, develop and launch all within one month. Of course, it was insane and my scope was way out of wack, but it got me excited and motivated, which I needed at the time. My original goal was to create a portfolio piece that was an actual product rather than a design that wouldn’t ever work in the real world with real users. Although at the time I wasn’t well researched in UX I did a very small amount of superficial UX Design and then moved on to design and prototyping. At this time I didn’t know that a few months later I would be focusing on UX as a career.

Planning, Design, and Prototype

Skipping forward almost eleven months and a whole world(literally)of experience and I decided to come back to Authora, scrap everything and start from the beginning. Now focusing on the UX Design process. This project still has the original goal of creating a real product, but I’m going to do more UX research as a learning process.

I want to take you through that process of learning. Showing what I’m working on, what I’m thinking, and where I’m getting stuck. I want people to ask questions and point out if I do something wrong. At the end of this process, I will have a real product as well as a full understanding of using UX Design in the real world with real people.

Next will be the planning phase and learning phase so expect some resources!

I’m Mathew Morse, Syracuse, NY-based UX Designer & currently looking for an amazing company to join.

You can follow me on Medium for more mini blogs or on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/mat.morse/

If you have any input definitely let me know!

Part Two: https://medium.com/@mat148/authora-mini-blog-its-all-part-of-the-plan-part-two-e3d16a161b9c

--

--

mat morse

I’m a Syracuse, NY-based UX Designer & currently looking for an amazing company to join.