being nonbinary in the world means getting misgendered constantly

Math Erao
3 min readOct 8, 2019

it’s been 6 months since I came out as a genderfluid nonbinary trans person and as pansexual

there’s been a lot of euphoria and dysphoria since then, plenty of understanding along with some negativity

for the most part, it’s been incredibly positive and freeing and I’ve learned a lot (which I’ll start diving into more in the future)

most everyone in my life has been understanding and tried to use my correct name and pronouns, at least as far as I know

when that hasn’t been the case, they’ve generally been gracious about being corrected

but it’s in my more public life that things have been the most challenging

because to be nonbinary, and especially to use they/them pronouns, means being misgendered constantly

I can’t imagine there’s a trans person alive who doesn’t know what it is to be misgendered

our society, in the west at least, has some very stringent views on gender, sexuality, biology, and a number of other things that make it a challenge to exist as a person whose gender doesn’t match the one they were assigned at birth

and while trans and nonbinary people aren’t a monolith, being misgendered is pretty universal

--

--

Math Erao

they/them ❄️ musician & writer & photographer ✨ very queer & very trans 😈