My journey to Microsoft Certified: Azure Solutions Architect Expert

Matheus Pimenta
2 min readFeb 27, 2024

--

Last year, I joined NewDay, a company that utilises several Azure cloud services. Check out Customer Stories: NewDay reinvents its business model with a new platform based on Azure Cosmos DB. Motivated by the practical aspects of day-to-day work and by the company’s learning and development policy, I began learning about Azure and taking the Microsoft certification exams.

The Journey

Before I continue, it’s important to highlight that when I started studying Azure, I already had three years of experience in cloud computing, working with some AWS services.

My certification journey began with Azure Fundamentals. I invested two weeks in self-paced study through Microsoft Learn and utilized free practice assessments as part of my preparation. The study materials provided by Microsoft were invaluable in solidifying my understanding and preparing me for the exam.

Next, I progressed to Azure Data Fundamentals and Azure AI Fundamentals, dedicating two weeks to each certification. Once again, I relied on self-paced learning through Microsoft Learn, combined with free practice assessments, to adequately prepare for the exams.

The next step was the Azure Administrator Associate certification. For this, I devoted an entire month to self-paced study through Microsoft Learn, deepening my understanding of the administrative and operational aspects of the Azure platform. I used free practice assessments as an essential tool to gauge my progress and identify areas that needed further attention.

Finally, my journey led me to the most challenging certification: Azure Solutions Architect Expert. To properly prepare for this exam, I invested three months in self-paced study through Microsoft Learn, supplemented by free practice assessments. Additionally, I turned to the “AZ-305 Study Cram” from John Savill’s Technical Training, which offered valuable insights and strategies for tackling the specific challenges of the exam.

My first attempt came after two months of intense study. While I didn’t achieve success the first time, it motivated me to continue preparing. I reflected on my areas of weakness and dedicated another week to reinforce my knowledge before the second attempt. Although it was a challenging journey, I finally succeeded on the third attempt, after an additional three weeks of focused study.

Conclusion

My journey to Azure Solutions Architect Expert certification was a challenging and rewarding experience. Along the way, I learned not only about the various aspects of the Azure platform but also about my own resilience and ability to overcome obstacles. Investing time and effort in pursuing certifications is a valuable investment in my professional career, allowing me to expand my knowledge and skills in one of the world’s leading cloud computing platforms. I hope my journey inspires other professionals to constantly seek improvement and excellence in their own technology careers.

Diagram describing the exams I took and their order: AZ-900, DP-900, AI-900, AZ-104, and AZ-305.
Visual representation of the exams I took and their chronological order

--

--