Adventures in film

Mathew Trivett
4 min readMar 17, 2019

--

Last year I lost my camera. But I also lost my focus when it came to photography.

Working in design, most of my photos ended up being pictures of walls of post-it notes or receipts. I decided instead of rushing to buy a DSLR, I would rekindle my love of photography with a film camera.

I bought a Canon AE-1 Program off eBay and some Kodak Porta film. My mum gave me some old Ilford Black & White film she had left over.

In November and December, me and Charlotte Fountaine travelled to Japan. It was the biggest adventure that I’d ever been on. Here are some shots from our trip.

Tokyo

Kyoto

Koyasan

Nara

Shooting on film has pushed me to consider composition and story more. It has helped me find confidence shooting portraits.

I’m thinking about investing in that DSLR a few months from now. Any recommendations welcome.

--

--

Mathew Trivett

Tech Lead @wearesnook. Helping people do things better with data and design for new technologies. I sometimes like taking photos