Spend a little time with yourself

Mathias Burton
3 min readNov 18, 2016

--

Last month, I turned 30. I spent the entire year leading up to that date dreaming about the decade of my life. I did by pursuing what I wanted now. I started rowing, worked on harder climbs, started a non-profit organization, built a number startup concepts, built up a community, paid off most of my debt, started trying to buy a home, kicked off a successful community group, spoke at a conference about user experience, worked toward a six pack, explored numerous hikes, destinations, and events in the Northwest. I went to Europe for the first time, studies through 46 books & courses, watched 44 movies, 31 tv series, and tried over 100 new restaurants. I had good times and hard times. But I went after my ambitions with an intensity I don’t see in people enough.

Life is fucking hard sometimes. Things do not go the way you want. I love to list things like above but if I look back on my data collection throughout the year, most of those things didn’t go the way I wanted through the process. But I pressed on imperfectly and finished what I could. Is that success then or a false impression? I don’t know, but I know where the answer lies: personal time.

Our days are filled with tasks, responsibilities, and honestly just a bunch of distractions. Right now you’re likely on your phone or computer reading some article written by joe schmo (me). Have you thought today about what you’re not doing? Have you asked yourself what you genuinely want? Have you asked yourself what you’re doing to get it? Businesses ask this annually. Public businesses are required to produce annual reports. Systems have been created to make analysis of the outcomes more objective and allow investors to have clear information on the value of that business. What about your value? Who are you reporting to?

Do yourself a favor and start making time for yourself. Have a conversation out loud. I go for walks and talk out everything I have on my mind. I keep it regimented. I do it every week. I spend 1 hour going up and down the road. The first 30 minutes I vent out what I’m thinking. I pause halfway and write down what I just spoke out loud into the notebook on my phone. On the way back I make a plan for how to deal with the challenges I face and before I get home, I ensure I have for how I’ll fix my situation this current week and I write that down too. If I don’t accomplish everything I said, I take a similar walk at the end of the week to recognize where I was too ambitious or missed something important. I try to take the walk if accomplish everything too, but then I’m asking why I didn’t get more in my plan, and I add to it for next time.

That’s worked really well for me. It’s not earth shattering, but I seem to be unique in spending the time systematically doing that. I put my tasks into trello and information to them as needed. I move the card s to a done pile as I finish them. I’ve paid nothing for that tool and it’s organized so much of my life. Thank you technology for being amazing sometimes. But now, back to you, reader. You’ve spent 5+ minutes reading this. Why are you still listening to me? Go talk to yourself.

--

--