Let’s Wasm

Challenge accepted

M Minguez
3 min readJul 12, 2019
https://unsplash.com/photos/W_ZYCEUapF0

After one year of studying programming I finally can see what’s being dev in a company — as an intern for now.

Welcome in Norway they said

I just passed my first week in Dolittle and I already can say that it’s a big difference from what I expected, for the better.

Concretely I thought that I will have to work in an old school way of thinking because I think that a lot of companies are like that… Not this one.
I come from a school with some innovative ways of learning so i’m pretty glad to be in an ambitious work team who wants to do some new things and be a pioneer in what they do. That’s how I see that.

This is a Wa.. What?

A Wasm project

I think like most of beginners and a some of older devs, I didn’t know what was WebAssembly before coming here.
However this is what I had to do for my first task.

“ This app works with wasm but run time is too long, make it shorter “

And I said : “OK I’m in!”

So I started looking for what this strange new thing was and tried to understand how this is working. I did find a few docs indeed, but not as much as I’m used to and it was the hardest to find docs for exactly what I needed: C# & WASM, the good way to compile and so and so….
I still do not understand all of the aspects of the application running on WASM so it’s a big challenge for me.

Of course I love being challenged but usually I can read docs and a lot of cool technologies are already existing to do pretty everything in all the classics languages. But here… Not 2 years old yet and in version 1.0, what better?

It makes me glad to work on a young technology, but it’s still really difficult to find what I need to optimize the application.
Indeed, I’m working on a “finished” project and it is not possible to remake it in another way, and anyway I don’t know how to😀.

Of course I learned a lot in a few days and I’m still learning, but for sure I need further explanations and researches on the subject.

https://github.com/thepracticaldev/orly-full-res

On a good way

In the next weeks, solutions will probably be found and I think that the work for that is on the good way.

This is an update from a Dolittle Intern. If you enjoyed the article be sure to clap 👏 so that others can find it.

--

--