In Defense of “Just a Hobby”

Matt Tanner
3 min readMay 3, 2019
Photo by Annie Spratt

When your hobbies get in the way of your work — that’s OK; but when your hobbies get in the way of themselves. . . well.

-Steve Martin

So, what are your hobbies?

A new colleague and I had been having an amiable conversation as we stood at the coffee station, but this direct inquiry threw me for a real loop. I stared into my steaming mug, unable to formulate a response. Eventually I stammered out an incomprehensible reply about work and parenting and how I liked to read but wished I had more time.

“Oh, and exercise. Sometimes I exercise,” I added.

As she walked away, I wondered why I had found it so difficult to answer her seemingly innocent question. I don’t normally struggle with casual conversation, but in this instance I had sounded like a guilty witness under cross-examination.

It was in that moment that I came to a stark realization:

I don’t have any hobbies.

I don’t collect anything. I don’t golf or bike or play video games with any sort of regularity. I buy my beer instead of home brewing it. I don’t know how to work with leather or wood. The only time I paint is with my five-year-old.

I fretted over this for a week. I even went so far as to search online for “lists of hobbies.” (As of…

--

--