The Monday Movement

Matt Cermak
4 min readFeb 9, 2015

I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For — U2

Do you have a song that has been in your life as long as you can remember? How about a song that just makes you think of your childhood? We all can say yes to those questions. And for me, I still haven’t found what I’m looking for by U2 is one of those songs. My love and interest for this song has definitely evolved — I loved it as a kid because it sounded great, and I love it even more now for what it means.

Gosh, when I hear this song I feel this positive energy run through my veins. To many, it is a song about wrestling with your faith and to never stop trying to become whole. To some, it seems to be about love and how difficult it can actually be to feel it. But to me, it’s about always pushing for something better; pushing to be more.

It is not only about finding the will to carry on, but also believing in the will to carry on. This is a song I always turn to when I need inspiration.

As Bono’s says, this song is about a restless spirit. And you feel that in the opening verse.

I have climbed the highest mountains
I have run through the fields
Only to be with you
Only to be with you

I have run, I have crawled
I have scaled these city walls
These city walls
Only to be with you

But I still haven’t found
What I’m looking for
But I still haven’t found
What I’m looking for

So, who is Bono talking about? He could be talking about God or he could be talking about a lover. Whatever the case may be, you can sense in the first verse that the character is going to extreme lengths to find purpose or meaning.

As the song continues, the character in the song admits to doing good deeds but also being a sinner at the same time. And when the chorus kicks back in, you can sense that there is this feeling of conflict.

I have spoke with the tongue of angels
I have held the hand of a devil
It was warm in the night
I was cold as a stone

But I still haven’t found
What I’m looking for
But I still haven’t found
What I’m looking for

When I get to thinking about these lyrics, I think about the journey of continuing to find meaning in our lives. That journey is a struggle. We all know that. The journey of wanting more from your life can be a little suffocating. Always working to be better professionally, socially, spritually. Thoughts of always trying to improve or thinking you are never good enough are sometimes unavoidable. It’s not easy to always want to push forward, but in the end, it’s what we have to do. And in the end, reward awaits.

I think in the above verse, you still get that feeling of doubt. To me, he is saying what does it all mean? Where will my good deeds take me in life and/or what do my sins say about me? If you just read the lyrics, you would could come to the conclusion that the lyrics have negative undertones. But when you listen to this song and when you listen to way Bono sings and how the rythym section continues to drive forward… You get this feeling of hope.

In the second to last verse, it all comes full circle.

I believe in the Kingdom Come
Then all the colors will bleed into one
Bleed into one
But, yes, I’m still running

Still running to push forward and believe no matter what. Period.

Full lyrics here.

So, I have had the pleasure of seeing this song twice in concert. One time at the United Center and once at Solider Field along side 65,000 people. It was such a communal feeling at both shows. U2 has a lot of special moments at their shows, but this song is always one of my favorites.

It’s the beat that keeps on driving, keeps on building, and then sets you up for this moment of reflection when the bridge hits. I remember at Solider Field, during the bridge, when The Edge’s guitar started chiming through out the stadium. We all began to clap in unison while smiling at the person next to us like he or she was our best friend. I felt so lost in the moment. Not thinking about the past or anything in the future… just lost in the music. It was incredibly freeing.

Then the rhythm section kicked back up and that Bono belts out that final verse with this notion of continuing to move everything forward. We felt like we were going somewhere into the unknown. I’ll never forget it. This song means a lot to me, and maybe it could to you, too.

It’s music that moves, guys. That’s what it is all about.

--

--

Matt Cermak

Co-Host @TheParTrain Podcast apple.co/2aula4KlFc | Alumni @msubearsgolf🏌️‍♂️| Executive Board Member: @ULIChicago, @ChicagoCCAC, @CAPAGsays, @saintpatrickhs ☘️