The Monday Movement

Matt Cermak
4 min readJul 20, 2015

--

The Scottish Synth Pop Edition — Chvrches & Prides

Sometimes, you just know.

With this edition of The Monday Movement, instead of going into the past for inspiration I’m focusing right on the present with two killer bands from Scotland: Chvrches & Prides. The Monday Movement is one thing but a Scottish Movement is another. And while I like many songs by both these artists, I’m going to feature the two that seem to be getting my ear multiple times a day.

This style of music is 80's influenced, grand, and in many ways…full of hope.

Who says you need a guitar or even drums to make inspiring music? Both these songs focus on a romantic relationship — the amazing feelings in the beginning and toxic feelings at the end. Both of these songs focus on letting go. Shall we?

Leave a Trace by Chvrches was released just this past week. It’s the first single off their upcoming album, Every Open Eye. Better yet, I’m not the only one taking notice — Vanity Fair just named it their single of the week and Chvrches has already taken their new material on the road as they were one of the headliners at Pitchfork Music Festival this past weekend in Chicago.

The programmed synth mixed in with the backing bass beat reminds so much of what The Cure and Depeche Mode were doing in the late 80's. The beat transports me to a John Hughes movie or the ending credits of some 80's movie that made you feel things. Do you feel that or am I just an 80's obsessed guy?

Furthermore, it’s Lauren Mayberry’s voice that makes Chvrches feel like something so original; so unique. A song around post-break up, you get the feeling that Mayberry is not only perturbed but also determined. Determined to not be harnessed; determined to carry on.

And you had best believe
That you cannot build what I don’t need
And I know I need to feel relief
And I know you’ll never fold

Can you get the synth out of your head yet? I feel this tranquility come over me when I listen to this song. Embracing surrender was the theme of last week’s post, and I think Mayberry is referring to that when she sings “I know I need to feel released.”

I know I need to feel released
Take care to tell it just as it was
Take care to tell on me for the cause..

I know I need to feel released

In other words, find a way to let go of the hurt and the pain. Surrender, it’s an important word.

Now, shall we turn it up a notch?

As Chvrches gains global popularity, their countrymen, Prides, are certainly playing follow the leader with the July release of The Way Back Up. Prides, who are also a trio have really written a dynamite collection of songs. In other words, EMBRACE THE SYNTHESIZER. Except Prides throws some guitar and drums in there… Here and there, that is. Their music in some ways, contains a little more joy that Chvrches, and Higher Love is a wonderful example.

There’s another dawning, a tremor where we stood
They said I would never, I said that I would
That I would do something good
That I would do something better

In the opening verse, the word tremor really caught my eye.

Tremor A tremor is an involuntary,[1] somewhat rhythmic, muscle contraction and relaxation involving oscillations or twitching movements of one or more body parts.

A song centered around the angst and anticipation of a romantic relationship that’s ready to take form; ready to ignite. To the point where involuntary things are happening to you. The feeling is real and incredibly natural. The thought of her is a cathartic one. It’s when you can’t be told any different.

They say we don’t know enough
They say we don’t know enough
Well I know enough
I know this is it for us
They say we don’t know enough
They say we don’t know enough
Well I know enough!

And then those drums kick in for the chorus. How does a dance party not breakout? You can tell these lads have a lot of fun on the stage — moving and grooving, and sweating their way through a live performance.

I know it’s a higher love..

A bigger, grander love. It’s when you just know it.

It wasn’t my plan to do the post this way, but it felt right as I listened to them on the subway this morning. In the end, it’s gotta matter. Find those songs that matter to you and let them move you. And then write about them! Right, Dane?

And there you have it: Matt, and Irish guy, going Scottish on The Monday Movement. Something about penning this post was just a ton of fun.

If you haven’t heard these songs before, give em’ a go.

It’s that synth, guys…

#TheMondayMovement

--

--

Matt Cermak

Co-Host @TheParTrain Podcast apple.co/2aula4KlFc | Alumni @msubearsgolf🏌️‍♂️| Executive Board Member: @ULIChicago, @ChicagoCCAC, @CAPAGsays, @saintpatrickhs ☘️