The Bunyip. Saving the Lives of Aussie Kids for Thousands of Years.

Bunyips. Perhaps a Myth, but the Fear is Real, and the Story is True.

Matt Middleton
16 min readSep 9, 2022
A bunyip looming over a seven year old boy looking at the water
If you go near the water, the bunyip will have you for breakfast — by author.

I can feel the danger coming from the water alongside. Those eyes, watching me, just below the surface.

You can sense it too, right?

But I’m not too bothered.

Plenty of kids my age would be scared, near the channel by themselves. Not me. Not over here. As long as I keep well back from that water, I’m safe.

What’s the danger?

The Bunyip, of course! Don’t you know? The Bunyip lives in that channel and eats kids like me for breakfast.

Are you new around here?

Bunyips live in waterways all around Australia. They don’t eat too many kids these days cause we’re all too smart and stay away from dams, lakes, rivers and everywhere else they live, but still, you should never let your guard down.

I don’t think they’re in the ocean though. I never heard of one living there, but I’ve never seen the sea, so I can’t say for sure. Mum and Dad would know; they are Bunyip experts.

I’m well aware of the Bunyip danger near water, but Mum must think I’m stupid as she always yells “watch out for snakes, and keep…

--

--

Matt Middleton

Tales from the land down under. I aim to entertain, but I’ll let you be the judge.