How I Increased My Email Subscriber Rate 573.08% By Just Asking Nicely

Matt Giovanisci
2 min readApr 28, 2016

--

I don’t like internet marketing. It’s one big douche chill.

Arrested Development is my favorite show of all time.

I don’t want to be a douche chill. In fact, I want to expose all DCs. I think online marketing should be brutally honest. I decided to start with a little bit of satire.

I created a page on my website where I just ask people for their email address. I don’t offer any content upgrades or free ebooks — I just ask.

Ok, it’s actually a very strong ASK. It’s a page where I ask people over and over again to give me their email address. I promise nothing in return.

I employ every know email capture tactic I know using a few third-party plugins, but mostly my own code. This includes:

This is the first thing you see when you land on MoneyLab.co/email/

I promoted the page on a couple of popular Facebook groups I’m a part of and drove 1,874 sessions in less than 24 hours according to Google Analytics.

Then, shit hit the fan. It went viral!

This is my current screenshot of Google Analytics at 9am MST on Friday April 29th (a little over 24 hours since I launched the page):

I got 596 new subscribers since. Thus an increase of 573.08% to my list in MailChimp.

This was all because of an elaborate joke. Nothing could make me happier :-)

--

--