A Constant Doubt

Matt Harwood
2 min readFeb 25, 2015

After reading Generation Stupid yesterday, a lot of uncomfortable bells began to ring in my head.

Not because I waste my life on Candy Crush, I don’t. The opposite, in fact.

I have a constant fear that whatever I’m doing right now is not contributing to a big plan to be ‘successful’, and I think a lot of other people feel this too, especially in tech (and start-up) land.

I read non-fiction 95% of the time because getting lost in a novel feels like a wasted opportunity. Only having half a hour a day to read, I can’t justify to my worried mind choosing a thriller over a productivity guru’s latest ideas.

Video games have never interested me, I should be programming instead!

Any films not based in the real world (fantasy, comic book stars, horrors) don’t provide any new knowledge I can apply in life.

Podcast choices are Today in Parliament, No Agenda, the TWiT network over popular and entertaining Serial, for example.

It ends up making you feel like a bore, a workaholic. Half the world seems to be saying it’s the only way to be ‘successful’ — to not waste your time. The other half suggest you’ll crack up and miss the point of life if you don’t have fun.

Everything in moderation?

--

--

Matt Harwood

In to relaxation, the real world, marketing and technology. Exploring the effects of the modern world on our minds and bodies.