CS371p Fall 2022: Matthew Escobar Blog #1

Matthew Escobar
3 min readAug 28, 2022

--

Where did you grow up?

Hi! My name is Matthew. I was born in Virginia and grew up in the one and only Frisco, Texas. Yup, I’m a Frisco kid.

What high school did you attend?

I attended Frisco High School — unlike a lot of the schools in Frisco, Frisco High School was built prior to when people came flooding into the town. Compared to the other high schools, it looks like a mix between and industrial factory and a prison (depending on what angle you approach it from). Ah, just writing about it gives me nostalgia.

What was your favorite extracurricular activity in high school?

My favorite extracurricular activity was orchestra! I played the violin, the same as my brother. I partook in a lot of ensembles, concerts, a few competitions, and a few musicals too.

Why did you come to UT?

I came to UT to take classes like these: computer science classes! UT was also a wonderful option when it came to financing my education and having a reputable education while not being too far away from friends and family. As I anticipated, it’s a great place to be.

Why are you majoring in CS?

I’m majoring in computer science because it’s fascinating to me. The depth and breadth of the things you can do with computer science is comparable to that of the ocean’s. I personally love learning about machine learning, artificial intelligence, and game development.

Why are you in this class?

I’m taking this class to learn more about object-oriented programming. I took SWE last year and one thing that I enjoyed about Downing’s classes is how they’re focused on application. I’ve learned how to apply Python and SQL in SWE and I’m hoping to do the same here in OOP.

What are your expectations of this class?

I expect to learn OOP concepts, tools, and C/C++ applications. I also expect to have fun meeting others and broadening my programming experience through sharing ideas, attending lecture, and asking plenty of questions. I’m hoping Downing and the TAs will be equally as accommodating in person as they were virtually last year.

How much C/C++ do you already know?

I’ve become familiar with C through OS but I could use a refresher because I haven’t used C for anything else since then. One thing I do know is that pointers are lovely.

How did you like the first lectures?

The first lectures went as I expected — great! I believe Downing does a great job at laying down foundations for the way his classes and lectures will operate.

How did you feel about the cold calling?

Cold calling is cool. I can appreciate the opportunity it gives us students to be engaged with the lecture material and give us opportunity to think critically in class.

How do you feel about specifications grading?

Specifications grading was a little rough in SWE because I had SO much on my plate. This year I have less to deal with, except I’m a little hesitant because I know SWE had virtual tokens but OOP does not. While I like the idea behind specifications grading, I’ll need to hold myself to a higher standard than last year to keep up with it (along with everything else).

What made you happy this week?

This week I’m happy that I could attend one of my friend’s birthday parties! It was a last minute invite but that seems to be his style when it comes to planning events. We played Cards Against Humanity, some Diablo 3, and Spades. And of course the party couldn’t have completed without an out-of-harmony rendition of Happy Birthday in a dimly lit room over a cake with the incorrect number of candles on it.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick of the week is a dirty chai latte with cold foam and cold cream. I’ve been working on setting up my apartment and getting on a better schedule so these babies help me patch up my lapses in consciousness when I need it. Pick it up at a UT Starbucks if you’re a cold coffee person who likes their coffee sweet.

--

--